Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo The Irish Sailing Association

The late Joe Fitzgerald in party mode in Youghal while Commodore of the Irish Cruising Club in 1986
Joe Fitzgerald of Cork went from among us a month and more ago at the age of 94. That month provides us with an added perspective for a full appreciation of his well-lived life afloat and ashore. It enhances our…
The GP14 Youghal Team were Travellers Trophy Winners at Blessington Sailing Club
A number of GP14 sailors made their way down to Blessington on Friday evening, pitched tents and camper vans around the lakeside.  It was a very wet and windy night for them.  Many of the Saturday sailors drove through heavy…
Three SB20 championships will be held in Dublin waters next season
An exciting 2017 Championship schedule includes old favourites Howth YC and Royal Ulster YC as well as a return trip to Mayo YC. This year's World Championships will be held in Royal Yacht Squadron, Cowes making it highly accessible from…
Flying Fifteen
National Flying Fifteen Champions 1974–2012 Year Boat Helm Crew Club1974 E.Sheehy KYC1975 J,Lowry Mrs.J.Lowry CSC1976 N.Watson KSC1977 E.Gilmore KSC1978 D.Tucker KYC19791980 J.McCann SLYC1981 C.Simmonds1982 J.Rodgers KSC1983 J.Millar KSC1984 P.Morrison M.Gotral1985 A.Bax NSC1986 R.Bannon NYC1987 J.Millar I.Coryn “Tie”Trophy presented by to…
Irish National Dragon Champions Year    Boat                 Helm                            Crew                           Crew 1966    ADYAR           G.F.Crosbie                 R.D’Alton                     P.D.Crosbie 1967    MEDUSA          J.O.T.Hughes  1968 1689 1970    MAJ-BRITT      A.Holm             P.Holm             P.R.Hoj-Jensen 1971    MEDUSA          J.O.T.Hughes 1972    ALETTA           S.A.Flood                    R.Michael                     R.Rafter 1973    ALPHIDA         S.A.Flood                    H. Byrne                      J.McMenamin 1974   …
Dragon Edinburgh Cup Winners Year Helm Yacht Location 2012 Simon Brien KIN (IRL214) Cultra 2011 Martin Byrne Jaguar (IRL201) Abersoch 2010 Klaus Diederichs Fever (NOR282) Cowes 2009 Bill Hardesty Gorgeous Worgeous (GBR723) Falmouth 2008 Don O'Donoghue Seabird (IRL204) Plymouth 2007…
Year Name of Boat Skipper/Owner Club 1953 Elf Neville Maguire RORC  etc. 1954 Nereid Ronnie Kay NYC 1955 Elf Neville Maguire RORC  etc. 1956 Elf Neville Maguire RORC  etc. 1957 Ferdia II Brian Dowling CY&BC 1958 Milk Wood Barney Heron…
Mirror Dinghy ‘Changed Sailing Forever’
#Mirror - The Mirror newspaper has paid tribute to its namesake dinghy, which features in the top 10 of Yachting World’s list of the most influential boats of all time. Launched in 1963 and aimed at the same market as…
Team Vol​vo's Ala​in Sign ​helping ​to inspi​re the n​ext gene​ration
Nearly 200 Optimist sailors took to Rutland Water last weekend for the final IOCA UK ranking event of 2016, the Volvo Gill Optimist End of Season Championship at Rutland Sailing Club. Members of the British Sailing Team, having just returned…
Flying Fifteens expect a good turnout following the success of last week’s East Coast Championships and the high numbers racing during the summer
Flying Fifteen
This coming weekend the Mitsubishi Flying Fifteen Frostbite Series starts and are being hosted by the National Yacht Club for the next six weeks. Local FF fleet captain Joe Coughlan is hoping for a good turnout following the success of…
Solo sailor – GP14 world champion Shane MacCarthy out and about in Dun Laoghaire in his Solo dinghy. The design features inward sloping decks, making it more comfortable to sit–out
GP14 world champion Shane MacCarthy is known for his exploits across a number of sailing classes, most recently the Fireball dinghy, (winner of the Munsters in Killaloe) but perhaps less known is his Solo dinghy form. It turns out the…
 DBSC Class Captain James Gorman steps down after a successful two year term on Friday
Following its lively Southern championships at the weekend, the SB20 Ireland AGM takes this Friday October 7th 2016 at the Royal Irish Yacht Club. The meeting will be boosted by an influx of new blood into the class as it…
Thirty Something competing at the Scottish Series
The spinnaker above survived – and it was a 1/2oz! If your sails haven't been so lucky they're in need of UK Sailmakers Ireland Sails repair and service...  SAIL REPAIR AND RE-CUTTINGWe have over 100 years of sail making experience in…
2016 Youth Champion Peter Boyle with crew Stephen Boyle
A challenging GP14 youth championship was held at Sligo YC on 24th and 25th September. The conditions proved difficult for both the sailors and race committee alike. An excellent turnout of 20 boats included sailors who had travelled from as…
Cian and Finbarr O'Regan's local entry was the overall winner by a single point at the Bandon Co-Op Squib Nationals
Only three points separated the top three overall in yesterday's Bandon Co-op Irish National Squib Championships 2016 at Kinsale Yacht Club. After six races sailed and one discard Cian and Finbarr O'Regan's local entry was the overall winner by a single…
Second in the 14–entry event was Howth Yacht Club's Two Men and Their Monkey sailed by Darragh Sheridan, Shane Murphy and John Phelan
Dave Barry, Dan O'Connell and Jimmy Dowling sailing Lia are the SB20 2016 Southern Champions following four wins from six races at the National Yacht Club at the weekend. Second in the 14–entry event was Howth Yacht Club's Two Men…

Featured Clubs

National Yacht Club

Featured Associations

Irish Sailing Association
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

vdlr sidebutton
tokyo sidebutton

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
Tom MacSweeney - This Island Nation
RTE Seascapes
BSB sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating