Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

55 Awards Presented to Selfless Rescuers

1st October 2008

Minister of State for Transport, Noel Ahern T.D, lauded the bravery of those involved in marine rescue when presenting the fourth Marine Meritorious Awards in Dublin Castle today.

Minister Ahern said “This afternoon we gather to honour the brave deeds and service of many men and women who have offered their skills and even their lives in order that others might be safe at sea.  I am honoured to present awards to people, who have performed acts of outstanding heroism.

These acts have undoubtedly saved numerous lives and prevented untold tragedies.  The debt we owe them is impossible to pay, today’s presentation to them merely recognises their exceptional acts of valour.  The recipients of today’s awards are indeed heroes and we are proud to honour them as such.”

The Marine Meritorious Award Scheme provides a formal system for the granting of Marine Awards, Testimonials or Certificates of Honour that recognise acts of marine bravery or of outstanding merit.  The Scheme acts as a form of recognition or the making of a statement honouring marine meritorious service or outstanding marine gallantry or achievement for search and rescue (SAR).  A total of 55 awards were made today by Minister Ahern (details attached)

Department of Transport Irish Coast Guard 4th Marine Meritorious Awards - list of recipients

Irish Coast Guard Long Service Awards

Medal for 15 years’ service

Ger Hegarty, Divisional Controller, MRCC Dublin
Pat Cleary, Station Officer, MRCC Dublin
Manus Patton, Station Officer, Malin Head
Pat Laffan, Coast Guard Administration, Cork
Mick Martyn, Radio Officer, MRCC

Medal for 25 years’ service
Mick McGarry, Divisional Controller, Malin Head
Russell Orpen, Station Officer, Valentia
Matt Haugh, Station Officer, MRCC Dublin
John Falvey, Deputy Divisional Controller, Valentia
Tom Byrne, Station Officer, MRCC Dublin

Medal for 35 years’ service

Tim Lyne, Station Officer, Valentia

Marine Medal for Meritorious Service

Gold Medal
Capt. Liam Kirwan, former Director Irish Coast Guard
Capt. Geoff Livingstone, former Asst. Director Irish Coast Guard

Silver Medal
Colin Williams, Divisional Inspector of Lifeboats RNLI

Bronze Medal
Jim Griffin, Area Officer, Dunmore East

Marine Ministerial Certificate of Participation in a Meritorious Service
PeterMcKenzie-Brown and Eamonn O'Broinn, CHC Helicopters (Irl) Ltd

Marine Ministerial Letter of Appreciation for Meritorious Service
Frank Heidke, Area Officer, Dingle
Simon Cotterell and Peter Leonard CHC Helicopters (Irl) Ltd
Crew Arranmore Lifeboat, Co.Donegal
Dublin based Coast Guard Helicopter
Dublin/Wicklow Mountain Rescue Team
Johnny Walsh & Crew, Owner / Skipper FV "Rachael J", Kinsale
Dunmore East Irish Coast Guard Team
Curracloe Irish Coast Guard Team
Rosslare Irish Coast Guard Team
Carnsore Point Irish Coast Guard Team
Kilmore Quay Irish Coast Guard Team
Fethard-on-Sea Irish Coast Guard Team
Tramore Irish Coast Guard Team
Bonmahon Irish Coast Guard Team
Helvick Head Irish Coast Guard Team
Ardmore Irish Coast Guard Team

Michael Heffernan Marine Gallantry Awards
Gold Medal
Peter O’Keeffe,  posthumous award (accepted by Reg O’Keeffe, (father) Co. Cork) and
Jonathan Herlihy, posthumous award (accepted by Christopher Herlihy, (brother), Co. Cork)
Seamus Byrne, posthumous award, accepted by Josephine McCaughey, (twin sister)

Bronze Medal
Sarah Meehan, Ballyshannon
Conor Doherty, Bundoran
Ryan Hamill, Bundoran
Ryan Kearney, Ballymena
Oliver Goggin, Bantry Community Rescue Boats Ireland
Shane Begley, Bantry Community Rescue Boats Ireland
Toby Campbell, Bantry Community Rescue Boats Ireland
Anne Kiely, Tarbert
Garda David Hearne, Waterford City
CPO James Bartley & Firefighting Crew, Naval Service

Michael Heffernan Marine Gallantry Letter of Appreciation
Kevin Morrin, Westport
Denis Harding, Skipper “Suzanna G”, Dunmore East
FV Northabout Crew, (accepted by Jarlath Cunnane, Castlebar)
Philip McAvoy, Craigavon, Co. Armagh
Colin McGuigan, Tramore, Co. Tyrone
Narayan Toolan (accepted by Gabriel Toolan, father, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim)
Commander and Crew, Naval Service (accepted by Commander Hugh Tully)

Michael Heffernan Marine Gallantry Certificate of Participation

Crew of “Suzanna G”, (accepted by Rodney Long)
Members of Bantry Community Rescue Boats Ireland Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2022

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating