Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Boys and Girls All Ireland fleet named

2nd October 2008

21 competitors will compete in the ISA Junior & Girls All Ireland Sailing Championship 2008 hosted this coming weekend (4th & 5th October 2008) in Howth Yacht Club

The event will be kindly sponsored by Euro Car Parks. The Junior & Girl's competition will take place in the single handed Olympic class Laser Radial dinghy.

This year’s championship will see Annalise Murphy returning to defend her title (2007 Girl's Champion). After a year of very successful international competitions one can expect a strong performance from Annalise to defend this title. Annalise was 5th in this year’s Laser Radial Youth Worlds.

2007 Junior All Ireland Sailing Champion, Chris Penney, a member of the ISA Youth Academy will also be keen to defend his title however with great depth throughout the fleet he will have much to contend with. One of which will be Ben Lynch who achieved a top ten placing in the ISAF Youth Worlds this year.

With nine strong girl competitors the boys should not expect plain sailing as the girls sail within the Junior fleet and can also win the Junior Title.

The Junior & Girls sailing competition begins Saturday morning while the seniors’ fleet will commence on Friday in the J80 SailFleet boats.

Competitors                 Representing:

Philip    Doran                Topper

Rory     Lynch               Topper

Timothy O'Laoire            420

Cilliam  Dickson            RS Feva

Adam    McCullough       Mirror

Ben      Lynch               Laser

Chris     Penney             Laser Radial

Richard Arthurs              Topaz

Richard Harrington         Optimist

Aidan    McLaverty         ISA Youth

Mark     Boylan              Wild Card

Michael Molloy               Wild Card

Aoife     Hurney              Topper

Jane     Butler                420

Isabella Morehead          RS Feva

Catherine Vaughan         Mirror

Tiffany   Brien                 Laser Radial

Katie     Malcolm            Laser 4.7

Danika  Sugrue              Topaz

Diana    Kissane            Wild Card

Annalise Murphy            2007 Winner Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2022

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating