Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

New records as D2D breaks new ground

8th June 2009


The National Yacht Club's Dingle Skellig Hotel Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race 2009 finished in Dingle this morning just 47 hours after the start in Dublin Bay on Saturday making it the fastest D2D ever. The ninth race since the event commenced in 1993 was a record-breaker in more ways than one: 1 A new race record of 24hrs 43mins 45secs was set by Whisper; 2 The previous race record of 32hrs 33 mins 49 secs set by TP52 Patches in 2005 was beaten by no less than six boats in this year's race: Whisper, Tiamat, Orix Aviation, Legally Brunette, Pretty Polly and Antix Dubh; 3 Highest boat speed ever achieved on a D2D: Whisper, 22.7 kts; 4 Largest ever number of entries: 37 boats started; 5 Smallest proportion of retirals: Five.

Listen in to winning skipper Prof O'Connell and his memories of the magic course:





The strong NE wind in the Irish Sea and along the South coast resulted in a wild downwind charge over most of the course, followed by a short, light beat from the Skelligs to Dingle.


Overall Winner, Racing Class Legally Brunette (X41) Cathal Drohan and Paul Egan, skipper Maurice O'Connell, RStGYC

Line Honours Whisper, Michael Cotter, RStGYC

Winner, Cruiser Class Spindrift, David Kelly, Wicklow HSC

Two-Handed Class Blackjack, Peter Coad and Darren Nicholson, Wicklow HSC

Related posts:











Official overall results from the National YC 

 Position Name
Corrected Time
 1 Legally Brunette  34:03:57
 2 Antix Dubh  34:19:43
 3 Whisper  34:50:36
 4 Pretty Polly  34:59:32
 5 Tiamat  35:07:02
 6 Orix Aviation  36:09:37
 7 Wow  38:10:57
 8 Eliminator  42:26:30
 9 Blackjack  42:40:37
 10 Joliba  42:52:25
 11 Pepperbox  43:15:12
 12 Ridire Bán  43:23:07
 13 Big Hilly Style  43:31:45
 14 Mumbo  43:33:05
 15 Team Windmill  43:34:45
 16 Alchimiste  43:38:46
 17 Spindrift  43:52:17
 18 Southbound IE  43:53:57
 19 Something Else  43:55:57
 20 Gumdrop  44:00:43
 21 Aquelina  44:13:39
 22 Yahtzee  44:15:28
 23 Lula Belle  44:16:50
 24 Contango  44:25:58
 25 Orna  44:48:28
 26 First of September  45:01:55
 27 Tsunami  45:14:00
 28 Tiger  45:17:02
 29 Albatras  45:20:04
 30 Persistance  46:25:45
 31 Emelija  47:14:48
 32 Quite Correct  48:28:29
 33 Aztec 3  RETD
 34 Betty Boop  RETD
 35 Galileo  RETD
 36 Powder Monkey  RETD
 37 Saxon Senator  RETD

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating