Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

16 Nominees For ISA All Ireland Sailing Championships at Royal Cork Yacht Club Are Announced

22nd September 2016
Colin Byrne of the Royal Irish Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire is one of three ICRA nominees to October's All Ireland Sailing Championships at Royal Cork Yacht Club Colin Byrne of the Royal Irish Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire is one of three ICRA nominees to October's All Ireland Sailing Championships at Royal Cork Yacht Club Photo:

16 'successful nominees' for the ISA All Ireland Senior Sailing Championships 2016 at Royal Cork Yacht Club on October 1st have been announced by the Irish Sailing Association.

A third of the invitees are from the host club who will race over two days in National 18 dinghies in Cork Harbour. The notice of race for the championships is downloadable here.

2015 defending champion Anthony O’Leary will race against club mates Ewen Barry representing the National 18s, Alex Barry from the RS400s, Stefan Hyde of the SB20 class as well as RCYC's Paul Gibbons who represents ICRA Divison 3. Recently crowned 1720 champion Peter O'Leary completes the home club line–up.

Also from Munster, Darragh O'Sullivan of Kinsale Yacht Club represents the Laser Standard class.

There are seven Dublin sailors representing five clubs. Olympic silver medallist Annalise Murphy (Laser Radial) and Flying Fifteen Champion David Gorman will fly the National Yacht Club flag. Sutton Dinghy Club sends IDRA14 and GP14 reps Alan Henry and Hugh Gill respectively. Dun Laoghaire's Royal Irish Yacht Club is represented by ICRA Division 1s Colin Byrne. Jonny Swan of Howth Yacht Club represents ICRA division 2. 

Wicklow GP14 world champion Shane MacCarthy from Greystones Sailing Club is also nominated along with clinker dinghy helmsmen Sam Shiels of Skerries SC from the Mermaids and Mark McCormick of Lough Ree YC representing the Shannon One Designs.

The full nominee list is below:

ISA All Ireland Nominees 2016
2015 Champion Anthony O'Leary RCYC
National 18 Ewen Barry RCYC
RS400 Alex Barry MBSC/ RCYC
SB20 Stefan Hyde RCYC
Mermaid Sam Shiels Skerries SC
Laser Standard Darragh O'Sullivan Kinsale YC
IDRA14 Alan Henry SDC
Flying 15 David Gorman NYC
GP14 Hugh Gill SDC
SOD Mark McCormick LRYC
ICRA Division 1 Colin Byrne RIYC
ICRA Division 2 Jonny Swan HYC
ICRA Divison 3 Paul Gibbons RCYC
1720 Peter 0 leary RCYC
Laser Radial Annalise Murphy NYC
GP14 Shane MacCarthy GSC
Published in All Irelands

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating