Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

All Ireland Sailing Attracts Top Crews for SB20 Event on Lough Ree (Final Entry List Here)

4th October 2018
A fleet of eight SB20s – racing without gennakers – will be used to decide the All Ireland Sailing Title this weekend on Lough Ree A fleet of eight SB20s – racing without gennakers – will be used to decide the All Ireland Sailing Title this weekend on Lough Ree Photo:

Saturday's All Ireland Sailing Championships run by Irish Sailing at Lough Ree Yacht Club has attracted some of the top sailing names in the country for the annual battle of the champion of champions event that will be sailed on Lough Ree in SB20s for the first time.

The final list of entrants has been issued by Irish Sailing this morning with Olympian Finn Lynch, multi–dinghy champion Jim Hunt, former Irish Sailor of the Year Noel Butler and Dragon Edinburgh Cup winner Adam Winkelmann, to name but a few, all joining the ranks of crews for the end of season climax.

Read the final list below:

As reported earlier, past champion Fionn Lyden will defend his title against some of the country's top sailing talent with bronze medalist in the Laser U21 World Championships, Liam Glynn one of six Northern Ireland helmsmen to be nominated.

Six keelboat sailors, nine dinghy sailors and one multihull sailor make up this year's invitation list.




Crew Name

Donagh Good


Royal Cork Yacht Club

Grattan Roberts

Dave Gorman

Flying Fifteen

National Yacht Club

Chris Doorly

Darragh McCormack

Mermaid/ICRA 4

Foynes Yacht Club

Johnny Dillon

Alex Barry

RS 400

Royal Cork Yacht Club/ Monkstown Bay Sailing Club

Mel Collins

Ross Kearney

GP 14

Royal North of Ireland Yacht Club

Jim Hunt

Jocelyn Hill

RS 200

County Antrim Yacht Club

Katie Kane

Peter Wallace


Royal North of Ireland Yacht Club

Martin Weatherstone

Guy Kilroy


Royal Irish Yacht Club

Adam Winkelmann

Graham Mc Mullin

Shannon One Design

Lough Ree Yacht Club

John Malone

Simon Revill


Sutton Dinghy Club

Noel Butler

Peter Kennedy


Strangford Lough Yacht Club

Stephen Kane

Stefan Hyde


Royal Cork Yacht Club/Royal Irish Yacht Club

Cillian Dickson

Fionn Lyden

2017 Champion

Baltimore Sailing Club

David Harte

Liam Glynn

Laser Standard

Ballyholme Yacht Club/ UCD sailing club

Tom Purdon

Neil Hegarty


Royal St George Yacht Club/Baltimore Sailing Club

Tom Hegarty

Aisling Keller

Laser Radial

LDYC/Royal Irish Yacht Club/Trinity Sailing Club

Finn Lynch



Published in All Irelands Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating