Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Tsunami Signs Up for Round Ireland Yacht Race 2010

29th April 2010
Tsunami Signs Up for Round Ireland Yacht Race 2010

The latest confirmed entry for the Biennial Round Ireland Yacht Race 2010 is from Peter Ryan, Commodore of the National Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire. He will skipper Vincent Farrell’s yacht, “Tsunami”, a First 40.7 with an overall length of 12 metres.  "Tsunami" was the ISORA Offshore Champion for 2009 and also won the coveted Wolf's Head Trophy.  Peter Ryan is the current chairman of ISORA, the Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association. 

Local interest in the Round Ireland Yacht Race is also growing with the news that a Wicklow entry is lining up for the start.  “The Pride of Wicklow” is a chartered Corby 45 one- off design that is more than capable of winning the race.  It was built in 1998 and won the Round the Isles (Ireland & UK) in 2000. It was totally refitted in 2008 and is fully race ready. It will be crewed by an enthusiastic team of young Wicklow-based sailors, aged between 19 to 21 years.

This year, the race will start on Sunday 20th June and is integrated with the Round Ireland SailFest, a Wicklow Town supported iniative featuring entertainment, music, food and fun for families and supporters of the race throughout the town and port over the period 17th to 20th June.  This will be an unmissable event.

This is the 30th anniversary of this historic race, first organised by Wicklow Sailing Club in 1980. The 2010 race is seeking a title sponsor, providing a wonderful opportunity for a brand to capitalise on Ireland’s Premier Offshore sailing event.

Enquiries from possible entrants in the race are welcome. Application forms and further details are available from [email protected] or Dennis Noonan Telephone: 01-2819459.

More on the Round Ireland Yacht Race:

Round Ireland Yacht Race 2010 Review

Round Ireland Yacht Race, Ireland's top offshore fixture

A Round up of 80 stories on the 2010 Round Ireland Yacht Race
Published in Round Ireland Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

The Round Ireland Yacht Race is Ireland's classic offshore yacht race that starts from Wicklow Sailing Club (WSC) and is organised jointly with the Royal Ocean Racing Club (RORC) and the Royal Irish Yacht Club (RIYC). This page details the very latest updates from the 2008 race onwards including the race schedule, yacht entries and the all-important race updates from around the 704-mile course. Keep up to date with the Round Ireland Yacht Race here on this one handy page.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating