Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Route to Galway is complete

22nd April 2010
Route to Galway is complete
The final gap in the Volvo Ocean Race route was plugged overnight, with Auckland, the City of Sails, announced as the second Pacific stopover. The fleet will sail from Sanya in China to Auckland before the leg around Cape Horn and on to Brazil.

Auckland last hosted the event in 2001-02. This time it will stage the leg four finish from Sanya in China and the start of leg five, which will take the fleet into the Southern Ocean once again, round Cape Horn and onto Itajaí, Brazil.

With the confirmation of Auckland, the route for 2011-12 is now set and includes: start port of Alicante (Spain), Cape Town (South Africa), Abu Dhabi (UAE), Sanya (China), Auckland (New Zealand), Itajaí (Brazil), Miami (US), Lisbon (Portugal), Lorient (France) and the finish port of Galway (Ireland).

"Our host port programme around the world is now complete and I can confirm that Auckland has won its bid to become our stopover port in New Zealand," said Volvo Ocean Race CEO Knut Frostad.

"This announcement completes the route and our goal of contracting all the ports before the end of March 2010, significantly earlier than in previous race cycles. The preliminary course will be published during April.

"The people of Auckland have an immense appreciation of sailing, and the Volvo Ocean Race in particular. Many of the world's best-known sailors are from New Zealand, and we are proud to bring the race back to the City of Sails, where we will be sure of a huge reception."

Auckland's selection as the port of choice and return to the race route was welcomed by Mayor John Banks. "This event is a great fit with Auckland's maritime location and of significant economic benefit for our city," he said.

"Auckland has a proud history associated with this event and we look forward to welcoming the fleet and many spectators to our city once again.
New Zealand has fielded many of the world's greatest sailors, including Sir Peter Blake who competed five times in The Whitbread Round the World Race, which became the Volvo Ocean Race in 2001. Blake's victory in 1989-90 on Steinlager 2 included a clean sweep of all six legs.

Grant Dalton, CEO of Emirates Team New Zealand, has also been a prolific competitor in the event, competing six times, being part of the winning crew onboard Flyer in 1981-82, and winning the maxi class with New Zealand Endeavour in 1993-94 whilst fellow New Zealander Ross Field won the Whitbread 60 division with Yamaha the same year.

More recently, Mike Sanderson drove ABN AMRO ONE to a resounding victory in 2005-06, with Brad Jackson and Stu Bannatyne as his watch captains. They carried on their winning streak as watch captains onboard 2008-09 winner Ericsson 4 and were jointly named Sailor of the Year at the 2009 Yachting New Zealand Excellence Awards. Along with Mark Christensen, Jackson and Bannatyne are the only sailors to have won the race three times.


* Auckland hosted the event seven times previously: 1977-78, 1981-82, 1985-86, 1990-90, 1993-94, 1997-09, 2001-02

* Wellington hosted the event in 2005-06

* New Zealand finished first and second in the 1989-90 event: Steinlager 2 (Peter Blake), Fischer & Paykel (Grant Dalton)

* Grant Dalton won the maxi division with NZ Endeavour in 1993-94

* Ross Field won the W60 division with Yamaha in 1993-94

* Mike Sanderson won with ABN AMRO ONE in 2005-06

* Mark Christensen, Brad Jackson and Stuart Bannatyne have been part of a winning crew on three occasions: Mark Christensen - EF Language (1997-98), illbruck (2001-02), ABN AMRO ONE (2005-06); Brad Jackson - NZ Endeavour (1993-94), ABN AMRO ONE (2005-06), Ericsson 4 (2008-09); Stuart Bannatyne - NZ Endeavour (1993-94), illbruck (2001-02), Ericsson 4 (2008-09)

* 189 sailors from New Zealand have taken part in the event

Published in Volvo Ocean Race Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating