Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

New ISAF Council Announced in Dublin

11th November 2012
New ISAF Council Announced in Dublin

#isaf – Ireland continues to be represented at the highest level in international sailing with The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) announcement of its new members of the ISAF Council, the final decision-making body of ISAF.

The new members of the ISAF Council were announced at the ISAF General Assembly in Dun Laoghaire, Ireland.

The Council is chaired by the ISAF President Carlo Croce (ITA) and also includes the seven Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer (non-voting) who is yet to be confirmed, 28 representatives of ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs) and one representative each from the the athletes' commission, ISAF Classes, Offshore sailing and Women's sailing.

In addition, the ISAF Presidents of Honour, His Majesty King Harald V of Norway and His Majesty King Constantine, are entitled to attend and participate in Council meetings although they do not hold a vote. The new Council members will serve a four-year term up until the ISAF General Assembly in November 2016.

The new members of the ISAF Council are:

President and Chairman – elected by ISAF MNAs at 2012 ISAF General Assembly

Carlo Croce (ITA)

Vice-Presidents – elected by ISAF MNAs at 2012 ISAF General Assembly

George Andreadis (GRE)

Chris Atkins (GBR)

Adrienne Greenwood (NZL)

Nazli Imre (TUR)

Gary Jobson (USA)

Quanhai Li (CHN)

W Scott Perry (URU)

Treasurer (non-voting)

To be appointed in due course.

It is the responsibility of the ISAF Council to manage the business of the International Sailing Federation. Ultimately, policy decisions within ISAF, including any amendments to the ISAF Regulations, are subject to the approval of the Council.

The ISAF Committee members, who are appointed primarily because of their expertise in a particular area, of the ISAF Council are required to represent their national viewpoint. Through this mechanism the process of ISAF's decision-making reaches it climax at the ISAF Council meeting. Council members exercise their vote based on the recommendations provided the expert ISAF Committees, the views of the Member Nations they represent and the requirement to have regard to the interests of the sport worldwide.

The new Council met for the first time on the final day of the 2012 ISAF Annual Conference. Following on from this meeting, one of the first tasks of the Council will be to confirm the appointment of ISAF Committee Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Committee members for 2013-2016.

The new Executive Committee first met on 11 November 2012 in Dun Laoghaire.

Council Representatives – appointed by ISAF MNAs

Group A – United Kingdom and Ireland~

Dick Batt (GBR)

John Crebbin (IRL)

Group B – Central Europe

Rolf Bahr (GER)

Marijan Hanzekovic (CRO)

Group C – East Europe

Tomasz Chamera (POL)

Kamen Fillyov (BUL)

Group D – South Europe

Jean Pierre Champion (FRA)

Dorith Stierler (ISR)

Totos Theodosiou (CYP)

Group E – Iberian Peninsula

Rafa Gonzalez (ESP)

Group F – Low Countries

Rob Franken (NED)

Group G –North Europe

Stig Hvide Smith (NOR)

Kurt Lonnqvist (FIN)

Group H – Euro-Asian

Georgy Shayduko (RUS)

Group I – Africa and Middle-East

Khalifa M Al-Sewaidi (QAT)

Group J – East Asia

Karl C Kwok (HKG)

Takao Otani (JPN)

Group K – South and Central Asia

Loh Kok Hua (SIN)

Group L – South West Pacific

Jan Dawson (NZL)

David Tillett (AUS)

Group M – South and West South America

Pablo Masseroni (ARG)

Group N – Central and East South America

Harry Adler (BRA)

Group O – North South America, Central American and Caribbean

Cary Lee Byerley (ANT)

Hector Duval (DOM)

Group P – North America

Gary Bodie (USA)

Peter Hall (CAN)

Cory Sertl (USA)

Group Q – Africa – South of the Sahara

Ross Robson (RSA)

ISAF Classes Representative – appointed by the International Classes Committee

Jeff Martin (GBR)

Oceanic and Offshore Sailing Representative – the Chairman of the ISAF

To be appointed in due course.

Women's Sailing

To be appointed in due course.

Athletes' Commission

Ben Barger (USA)

Published in World Sailing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

World Sailing Information

World Sailing is the world governing body for the sport of sailing, officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).

Founded in 1907, World Sailing's vision is for a world in which millions more people fall in love with sailing; inspired by the unique relationship between sport, technology and the forces of nature; we all work to protect the waters of the world.

World Sailing is made up of 144 Member National Authorities, the national governing bodies for sailing around the world and 117 World Sailing Class Associations.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton dob
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Wave button for Afloat new dates

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

quantum sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating