Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Strangford Lough's Juliette Kennedy Fourth in UK Women's Match Racing Championship

15th February 2023
Action from the RYA Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championships
Action from the RYA Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championships Credit: Paul Wyeth / RYA

The sell-out RYA Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championship finale saw two Scottish skippers battling for the title, with Alison Morrish's team taking the crown and Irish Flying Fifteen champion Juliette Kennedy of Strangford Lough finishing fourth. 

The latest edition of the championship was due to have taken place at Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy in September 2022 but was postponed following the death of Her Majesty The Queen, who was the Patron of the RYA.

Rescheduled for 11-12 February 2023, eight teams competed for the title in British Keelboat Sailing's fleet of Elliott 6Ms. Saturday had light winds and although this delayed the start until around 10 am, it was still possible to fit in 26 races.

Overall placings

1. Ali Morrish, GBR
2. Rebecca Coles, GBR
3. Sophie Otter, GBR
4. Juliette Kennedy, GBR
5. Octavia Owen, GBR
6. Fiona Tylecote, GBR
7. Emily Page, GBR
8. Ellen Morley, GBR

Results here Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

About Match Racing

A match race is a race between two competitors, going head-to-head.

In yacht racing, it is differentiated from a fleet race, which almost always involves three or more competitors competing against each other, and team racing where teams consisting of 2, 3 or 4 boats compete together in a team race, with their results being combined.

A match race consists of two identical boats racing against each other. With effective boat handling and clever use of wind and currents, a trailing boat can escape the grasp of the leader and pass. The leader uses blocking techniques to hold the other boat back. This one-on-one duel is a game of strategy and tactics.

About the World Match Racing Tour

Founded in 2000, the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) promotes the sport of match racing around the world and is the longest running global professional series in the sport of sailing. The WMRT is awarded ‘Special Event’ status by the sport’s world governing body – World Sailing – and the winner of the WMRT each year is crowned World Sailing Match Racing World Champion. Previous champions include Sir Ben Ainslie (GBR), Taylor Canfield (USA), Peter Gilmour (AUS), Magnus Holmberg (SWE), Peter Holmberg (ISV), Adam Minoprio (NZL), Torvar Mirsky (AUS), Bertrand Pace (FRA), Jesper Radich (DEN), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Ian Williams (GBR). Since 2000, the World Match Racing Tour and its events have awarded over USD23million in prize money to sailors which has helped to contribute to the career pathway of many of today’s professional sailors