Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Galway Bay Sailing Club's Joie de Vie (J109) is 2015 WIORA Overall Winner

27th July 2015
WIORA 2015 overall winner Joie De Vie, Silvie Blazkova/Cahill G, (Galway Bay Sailing Club). Photo: Gareth Craig

#wiora – WIORA had to share inner the Bay with Galway Bay Swim Event from Aughnish to Salthill where some 60 participants took part. The bowman Martin Oliver off NowWhat was one of those. OD Alan crosbie set his windward mark East of Tawin Shoals navigation mark.
The waters were nice and flat for swimming but a struggle for sailing winds. However, the course was set with what you got - 8 to 12 Knots.

Winners were well spread across the fleet including an inland entry from Garrykennedy Sailing Club, Lough Derg, Mayo Sailing Club, Tralee Sailing Club, Foynes Yacht Club as well as host club Galway Bay. Galway Harbour base made a vast difference to the fleet asd all boats were able to crew to sea with a simple and safe step on board from the new marina. Captain Brian Sheridan, Harbour Master went to great lengths to facilitate longer opening times of the tidal gates to the harbour. Class 2 saw Caroline and Liam push the Corby 25 'Tribal' to four bullets for a series total of 10 points and the silverware.
Most compeditive Class was Class 1 which had 2 winners on Series total points of 8.25. Joie de Vie and NowWhat raced all 7 races (1 discard) to earn equal points on final day Saturday.

Committtee and Race officials had to meet to sort out a final winner and with a count-back system, the Series Silverware went to Joie de Vie (J109). Silvie Blazkova and Glen Cahill were estatic with the win and broke out the Champagne there and then at the top table.

Division 1 IRC

1 Joie De Vie, Silvie Blazkova/Cahill G, (Galway Bay Sailing Club)
2 NowWhat, Barry Heskin (Galway Bay Sailing Club)
3 Xena , Ian Gaughan, (Mayo Sailing Club)

Division 2 IRC

1 Tribal, Liam Burke, (Galway Bay Sailing Club)
2 Dis-a-Ray, Raymond McGibney, (Foynes YC)
3 Treyona, Finbar O'Connell (Tralee Bay SC)

Division 3 IRC

1 Jaguar, Gary Fort, (Tralee Bay SC)
2 Battle, JP Buckley, (FoynesYC)
3 Running Tide, Michael Mulloy (MayoSC)

White Sails

1 Jabiru, Pat O'Shea, Jim Lawlor (Royal Western YC)

2 Poitin, Bev Lowes ( Foynes YC)

3 Zephyr, Kieran Ruane, (GarrykennedySC)

Published in WIORA Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating