Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Displaying items by tag: Disqualified

The rain came to the National Rowing Centre yesterday, but the good racing at the National Rowing Championships continued – and there was even a raging controversy as UCD’ s  men’s intermediate eight was disqualified from the semi-finals after the cox turned up four minutes late for her weigh-in. UCD maintain that she should have been allowed leeway because she had reported earlier but was told to return with a registration card. In  the final, Queen’s took the title, with Trinity second.

The most exciting race of the first session was in the women’s senior quadruple sculls, where Skibbereen passed a faltering Old Collegians/Three Castles crew in the closing stages and won by half a second. Bann and Commercial were more comfortable winners of the men’s junior 18 coxed fours and the women’s intermediate double sculls, but the most emphatic winner was Hilary Shinnick int the women’s junior 18A single sculls – and the Fermoy girl turned 16 in March.

National Rowing Championships, National Rowing Centre, Cork – Day Two


Eight – Intermediate: 1 Queen’s 6:00.1, 2 Trinity 6:01.7, 3 Neptune 6:05.5.

Four, coxed – Junior 18A: 1 Bann 6:33.5, 2 St Joseph’s College 6:41.8, 3 Portora 6:47.6.

Pair – Senior: 1 Queen’s (E Mac Domhnaill, M Ewing) 6:56.7, 2 Grainne Mhaol 7:01.1, 3 St Michael’s 7:01.7, 4 Queen’s B 7:12.9, 5 Galway B 7:15.0, 6 Galway A 7:52.7.


Sculling, Quadruple – Senior: 1 Skibbereen 6:51.2, 2 Old Collegians/Three Castles 6:51.7, 3 St Michael’s 7:14.5.

Double – Intermediate: 1 Commercial 7:35.1, 2 Skibbereen 7:40.0, 3 Garda 8:17.0.

Single – Junior 18A: 1 Fermoy (H Shinnick) 8:05.9, 2 Skibbereen (M Dineen) 8:10.7, 3 Portora (K Cromie) 8:19.7.

Published in Rowing

The Half Ton Class was created by the Offshore Racing Council for boats within the racing band not exceeding 22'-0". The ORC decided that the rule should "....permit the development of seaworthy offshore racing yachts...The Council will endeavour to protect the majority of the existing IOR fleet from rapid obsolescence caused by ....developments which produce increased performance without corresponding changes in ratings..."

When first introduced the IOR rule was perfectly adequate for rating boats in existence at that time. However yacht designers naturally examined the rule to seize upon any advantage they could find, the most noticeable of which has been a reduction in displacement and a return to fractional rigs.

After 1993, when the IOR Mk.III rule reached it termination due to lack of people building new boats, the rule was replaced by the CHS (Channel) Handicap system which in turn developed into the IRC system now used.

The IRC handicap system operates by a secret formula which tries to develop boats which are 'Cruising type' of relatively heavy boats with good internal accommodation. It tends to penalise boats with excessive stability or excessive sail area.


The most significant events for the Half Ton Class has been the annual Half Ton Cup which was sailed under the IOR rules until 1993. More recently this has been replaced with the Half Ton Classics Cup. The venue of the event moved from continent to continent with over-representation on French or British ports. In later years the event is held biennially. Initially, it was proposed to hold events in Ireland, Britain and France by rotation. However, it was the Belgians who took the ball and ran with it. The Class is now managed from Belgium. 

At A Glance – Half Ton Classics Cup Winners

  • 2017 – Kinsale – Swuzzlebubble – Phil Plumtree – Farr 1977
  • 2016 – Falmouth – Swuzzlebubble – Greg Peck – Farr 1977
  • 2015 – Nieuwport – Checkmate XV – David Cullen – Humphreys 1985
  • 2014 – St Quay Portrieux – Swuzzlebubble – Peter Morton – Farr 1977
  • 2013 – Boulogne – Checkmate XV – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1985
  • 2011 – Cowes – Chimp – Michael Kershaw – Berret 1978
  • 2009 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978
  • 2007 – Dun Laoghaire – Henri-Lloyd Harmony – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1980~
  • 2005 – Dinard – Gingko – Patrick Lobrichon – Mauric 1968
  • 2003 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton dob
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

quantum sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating