Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Displaying items by tag: Isle of Man Steam Packet Co

#ManxCruise – A Round the Island cruise by the Manx ferry Ben-My-Chree (1998/12,504gt) is to take place next Saturday 15 June on a four-hour circuit of the island's spectacular coastline, writes Jehan Ashmore.

The journey starts at 7am and returns to Douglas at 12 noon. The special excursion includes a meal on board and the fare is £26.00 for adults and £16.00 for children including a main meal, a soft drink and an ice cream.

To make a booking with the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company, call the Ferry Travel Shop, Sea Terminal Douglas or call the Reservations Team on 661 661 and for further details click HERE.


Published in Ferry

#ManxFerry –With the Easter Bank Holiday weekend underway, fast-ferry sailings to and from the Isle of Man to Dublin Port take place tomorrow with a round-trip service from Douglas.

Operating these sailings are by the fast-ferry Manannan which is is due to dock in Dublin ferryport in the morning at 09.55hrs and remain in the port until departing for Douglas at 10.45hrs.

To see the Isle of Man Steam Packet Co.'s sailing schedule including next week's Belfast-Douglas sailings  and other services click HERE.


Published in Ferry

#ManxRoutes – Today marks the final Douglas-Birkenhead sailing of the winter, though the mainland port switches for the summer running from Liverpool, writes Jehan Ashmore.

Ro-Pax ferry Ben-My-Chree is making an end of season sailing today with an arrival in Douglas around teatime.

Recently emerged from hibernation mode and Alexandra Dock, Liverpool was the fastferry Manannan.

The InCat built catamaran craft is to start summer season sailings to Merseyside, with the first sailing from the Manx capital scheduled next Friday (22 March) departing 07.30hrs to Liverpool landing stage.

For a complete timetable and also for other routes including Douglas-Heysham click HERE.


Published in Ferry

The Half Ton Class was created by the Offshore Racing Council for boats within the racing band not exceeding 22'-0". The ORC decided that the rule should "....permit the development of seaworthy offshore racing yachts...The Council will endeavour to protect the majority of the existing IOR fleet from rapid obsolescence caused by ....developments which produce increased performance without corresponding changes in ratings..."

When first introduced the IOR rule was perfectly adequate for rating boats in existence at that time. However yacht designers naturally examined the rule to seize upon any advantage they could find, the most noticeable of which has been a reduction in displacement and a return to fractional rigs.

After 1993, when the IOR Mk.III rule reached it termination due to lack of people building new boats, the rule was replaced by the CHS (Channel) Handicap system which in turn developed into the IRC system now used.

The IRC handicap system operates by a secret formula which tries to develop boats which are 'Cruising type' of relatively heavy boats with good internal accommodation. It tends to penalise boats with excessive stability or excessive sail area.


The most significant events for the Half Ton Class has been the annual Half Ton Cup which was sailed under the IOR rules until 1993. More recently this has been replaced with the Half Ton Classics Cup. The venue of the event moved from continent to continent with over-representation on French or British ports. In later years the event is held biennially. Initially, it was proposed to hold events in Ireland, Britain and France by rotation. However, it was the Belgians who took the ball and ran with it. The Class is now managed from Belgium. 

At A Glance – Half Ton Classics Cup Winners

  • 2017 – Kinsale – Swuzzlebubble – Phil Plumtree – Farr 1977
  • 2016 – Falmouth – Swuzzlebubble – Greg Peck – Farr 1977
  • 2015 – Nieuwport – Checkmate XV – David Cullen – Humphreys 1985
  • 2014 – St Quay Portrieux – Swuzzlebubble – Peter Morton – Farr 1977
  • 2013 – Boulogne – Checkmate XV – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1985
  • 2011 – Cowes – Chimp – Michael Kershaw – Berret 1978
  • 2009 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978
  • 2007 – Dun Laoghaire – Henri-Lloyd Harmony – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1980~
  • 2005 – Dinard – Gingko – Patrick Lobrichon – Mauric 1968
  • 2003 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating