Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Displaying items by tag: New ZealandCork

The Naval Service has welcomed a pair of inshore patrol vessels (IPV) to its fleet following the arrival in Cork Harbour of the former Royal New Zealand Navy ships.

The 'Lake' series HMNZS Pukaki and HMNZS Rotoiti which were built in Australia to serve the RNZN until 2019, were purchased last year by the Department of Defence for a total of €26 million.

On Sunday afternoon the 156m cargo ship, Big Lift Happy Dynamic carrying the IPV's had arrived in Cork Harbour following a month long 18,000km journey from Auckland Harbour, New Zealand.

The heavy-lift cargoship passed Roches Point Lighthouse at the mouth of Cork Harbour and berthed at the deep water quay in Ringaskiddy, adjacent to the ferry terminal.

Unloading of the 55m vessels from the Dutch owned cargo vessel is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, once certain preparatory work is done.

The deck-mounted cranes of the Happy Dynamic will lower the IPV's into the water and then they are to be towed to the Naval Service’s HQ at the nearby base on Haulbowline island.

The IPV's each of 55m in length were formally handed over to the Department of Defence at a ceremony in Auckland on March 14th.

Representing the Irish government at the handover ceremony was the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Charlie McConalogue.

The Irish Times has more on the patrol vessels which are to replace the 1984 built coastal patrol vessels (CPV), L.E. Ciara and L.E. Orla which were decommissioned last year along with the flagship,L.E. Eithne.

The CPV's originally served the UK's Royal Navy as part of the Hong Kong squadron and in 2018 the 'Peacock' class pair marked 30 years of operations for the Naval Service.  

Published in Navy

The Half Ton Class was created by the Offshore Racing Council for boats within the racing band not exceeding 22'-0". The ORC decided that the rule should "....permit the development of seaworthy offshore racing yachts...The Council will endeavour to protect the majority of the existing IOR fleet from rapid obsolescence caused by ....developments which produce increased performance without corresponding changes in ratings..."

When first introduced the IOR rule was perfectly adequate for rating boats in existence at that time. However yacht designers naturally examined the rule to seize upon any advantage they could find, the most noticeable of which has been a reduction in displacement and a return to fractional rigs.

After 1993, when the IOR Mk.III rule reached it termination due to lack of people building new boats, the rule was replaced by the CHS (Channel) Handicap system which in turn developed into the IRC system now used.

The IRC handicap system operates by a secret formula which tries to develop boats which are 'Cruising type' of relatively heavy boats with good internal accommodation. It tends to penalise boats with excessive stability or excessive sail area.


The most significant events for the Half Ton Class has been the annual Half Ton Cup which was sailed under the IOR rules until 1993. More recently this has been replaced with the Half Ton Classics Cup. The venue of the event moved from continent to continent with over-representation on French or British ports. In later years the event is held biennially. Initially, it was proposed to hold events in Ireland, Britain and France by rotation. However, it was the Belgians who took the ball and ran with it. The Class is now managed from Belgium. 

At A Glance – Half Ton Classics Cup Winners

  • 2017 – Kinsale – Swuzzlebubble – Phil Plumtree – Farr 1977
  • 2016 – Falmouth – Swuzzlebubble – Greg Peck – Farr 1977
  • 2015 – Nieuwport – Checkmate XV – David Cullen – Humphreys 1985
  • 2014 – St Quay Portrieux – Swuzzlebubble – Peter Morton – Farr 1977
  • 2013 – Boulogne – Checkmate XV – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1985
  • 2011 – Cowes – Chimp – Michael Kershaw – Berret 1978
  • 2009 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978
  • 2007 – Dun Laoghaire – Henri-Lloyd Harmony – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1980~
  • 2005 – Dinard – Gingko – Patrick Lobrichon – Mauric 1968
  • 2003 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating