Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Displaying items by tag: RC 35

The exciting RC35 class is entering its third year of racing with another close season on the cards. Many of the members are taking advantage of unseasonal weather and getting an early start on boat prep hoping to shave off a few vital seconds round the race course writes Robin Young.

The class is continuing to go from strength to strength with three new boats already confirmed for 2019. The draw of close Corinthian class racing in exciting locations, combined with boats that are potentially equally comfortable on a family cruise as they are thrashing round a windward-leeward race course seems to be a winning formula. With class rules specifically designed to keep racing close while managing the budget, what’s not to like. New class member Terry Kirchin summed it up well, “Racing in the RC35 fleet is such an exciting prospect. With well-matched boats making up the fleet, it'll be the nearest thing to class racing most of us yachters will ever see. As a long time east coast sailor, I would say we've enjoyed some fine company and some keen sailing over there but we're now looking forward to making the most of the variety of splendid sailing venues on the west coast and further afield in Ireland and Wales.”

"It is a perfect opportunity for boats from Scotland, Ireland and Wales to take in some great racing"

At this time of year, many people are enjoying the battle between the sides in the Six Nations Rugby Championship. The RC35 Class takes this inter-nation rivalry into the summer months with the Celtic Cup. A Championship made up of 4 events (3 to count) held in Scotland, Ireland and Wales in the early to mid part of the season. It is a perfect opportunity for boats from Scotland, Ireland and Wales to take in some great racing in fantastic locations and compete for a stunning trophy. The events include the Scottish IRC season-opening Pelle P Kip Regatta at Inverkip on the 11/12th May, followed two weeks later with the well known Scottish Series in the glorious Loch Fyne. Then a break until mid-July for the brilliant Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta in Dublin Bay and shortly afterwards the Spinlock IRC Welsh National Championship in early August at Pwllheli North Wales. The Hon Secretary of the hosting Pwllheli Sailing Club, Stephen Tudor puts it well, “The racing will take place on the world-renowned sailing waters of Cardigan Bay with the dramatic scenery provided by the mountains of Snowdonia and the Llyn Peninsula and is only a short sail from the Marina. Minimal tidal influences and being open to the prevailing winds will provide superb championship quality racing conditions. ”

Celtic Cup Holder StormCeltic Cup Holder Storm, a J109 of Howth Yacht Club

Anybody interested in entering or looking for more information about the Celtic Cup please contact the class through our Facebook page here. Come and join the fun and try to wrangle the Cup from Storm of Howth Yacht Club.

The rest of the Scottish fleet will continue to compete for the overall Championship in and around the Celtic Cup. Will Animal become the first boat to retain the title after their hard-fought victory in 2018? Will Banshee regain the trophy they won in 2017? The ever-improving Jacob VII will be hoping to carry on the form that saw them win the final event of 2018. Many of the other class stalwarts will also have a big say, including Largs Regatta Festival winner Triple Elf, Scottish Champion Wildebeest (under new ownership), the ever-present Now or Never 3 and last year’s early pacesetter, Storm. With three new boats to the class and other owners into their 2nd and 3rd years of ownership, it's going to make for a great season which will be worth watching every step of the way.

RC35 2018 Champion AnimalRC35 2018 Champion - Animal

Published in Volvo Regatta
Tagged under

The Half Ton Class was created by the Offshore Racing Council for boats within the racing band not exceeding 22'-0". The ORC decided that the rule should "....permit the development of seaworthy offshore racing yachts...The Council will endeavour to protect the majority of the existing IOR fleet from rapid obsolescence caused by ....developments which produce increased performance without corresponding changes in ratings..."

When first introduced the IOR rule was perfectly adequate for rating boats in existence at that time. However yacht designers naturally examined the rule to seize upon any advantage they could find, the most noticeable of which has been a reduction in displacement and a return to fractional rigs.

After 1993, when the IOR Mk.III rule reached it termination due to lack of people building new boats, the rule was replaced by the CHS (Channel) Handicap system which in turn developed into the IRC system now used.

The IRC handicap system operates by a secret formula which tries to develop boats which are 'Cruising type' of relatively heavy boats with good internal accommodation. It tends to penalise boats with excessive stability or excessive sail area.


The most significant events for the Half Ton Class has been the annual Half Ton Cup which was sailed under the IOR rules until 1993. More recently this has been replaced with the Half Ton Classics Cup. The venue of the event moved from continent to continent with over-representation on French or British ports. In later years the event is held biennially. Initially, it was proposed to hold events in Ireland, Britain and France by rotation. However, it was the Belgians who took the ball and ran with it. The Class is now managed from Belgium. 

At A Glance – Half Ton Classics Cup Winners

  • 2017 – Kinsale – Swuzzlebubble – Phil Plumtree – Farr 1977
  • 2016 – Falmouth – Swuzzlebubble – Greg Peck – Farr 1977
  • 2015 – Nieuwport – Checkmate XV – David Cullen – Humphreys 1985
  • 2014 – St Quay Portrieux – Swuzzlebubble – Peter Morton – Farr 1977
  • 2013 – Boulogne – Checkmate XV – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1985
  • 2011 – Cowes – Chimp – Michael Kershaw – Berret 1978
  • 2009 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978
  • 2007 – Dun Laoghaire – Henri-Lloyd Harmony – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1980~
  • 2005 – Dinard – Gingko – Patrick Lobrichon – Mauric 1968
  • 2003 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton dob
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Wave button for Afloat new dates

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

quantum sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating