Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Fowler & Team Lazarus take Weir & Sons Match Race Open

14th June 2010
Fowler & Team Lazarus take Weir & Sons Match Race Open
Andrew Fowler and Team Lazarus won the Weir & Sons Leinster Match Racing Open held by the Royal Irish Yacht Club over the weekend, the second event win in a row for the Royal St George sailor.

Mixed weather conditions led to racing being held outside the harbor and by the end of day one Fowler had pulled out into what had turned out to be a decisive lead with six wins. Having missed the previous leg of the Tour 2009 Tour Champion John Sheehy got off to a difficult start and defeats to Fowler, Marty O'Leary and Laura Dillon left his Royal St George team on 4 wins. O'Leary and Sam Hunt filled joint second on 5 wins each.
As normal racing moved up a gear on the second day a strong come back from Sheehy, with 7 wins out of 7, was only enough to claw back into 2nd. With only 1 loss to John, Team Lazarus closed out the event to maintain their pole position in the tour rankings.
The Leinsters formed an unofficial indicator event for the Ireland vs The World event to be hosted by the Royal St George Yacht Club on the 24th and 25th of July. Mirsky Racing, the worlds no. 2 match racing team, will be in Dublin to captain a World team consisting of world top 100 ranked teams from Australia, New Zealand, England, the USA and Switzerland. These six teams will take on 6 Irish teams to be selected and captained by John Sheehy.
Check out Brian Carlin's fantastic images in the Afloat gallery HERE.
The Final Placing were as follows:

1st - Team Lazarus (Andrew Fowler, Tim Goodbody, Guy O'Leary and Rory Fitzpatrick) 12 wins
2nd - Royal St George Yacht Club (John Sheehy, Rory O'Sullivan, Paddy Kirwan and Nick Smith) 11 wins
3rd - Sam Hunt (Sam Hunt, Richie Murphy, Paddy Blackely and John Downey) 10 wins
4th - Marty O'Leary (Marty O'Leary, Richard Bruton, Nicholas O'Leary and Simon Doran) wins
5th - Aiden McLaverty (Aiden McLaverty, Ross Hamilton, Alister Kissane and Darragh Kinsella) wins
6th - Casey Racing (Conal Casey, Graham Elms, Simon Mitton and Ronan Hannon) 4 wins
7th - Team Dillon (Laura Dillon, Geraldine Eickhold, Kevin Johnson, Rebecca Killian and John White) 3 wins
8th Alex Barry (Alex Barry, Sandy Remmington, Patrick Good, and Cian Martin) 2 wins

Published in J80 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating