Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Dublin Laser Dinghy Sailing League Inaugural Prizegiving is Held

11th July 2018
Laser League prizes are presented at the Royal St. George Yacht Club Laser League prizes are presented at the Royal St. George Yacht Club

The Laser dinghy league was run over the three consecutive Saturdays during the National Yacht Club, Royal Irish Yacht Club and Royal St. George YC Regattas.

A total of 28 Lasers participated over the 6 races – 16 in the standard Laser rig and 12 in the Laser Radial rig. 

The largest fleet of 23 Lasers competed on the last Saturday in a challenging but rewarding course off Seapoint in Dublin Bay.

"A total of 28 Lasers participated over the six races"

The hour-long races provided great racing for all levels with great competition and provided a great experience for some newcomers to the fleet.

Overall Results: 


  1. Sean Craig
  2. Judy O’Beirne
  3. Shirley Gilmore


  1. Ronan Wallace
  2. Ross O’Leary
  3. Eoin Delap

In the Awards section of the prizegiving, BEST NEWCOMER went to Ali Robinson, MOST IMPROVED went to Richard Tate and BEST ATTITUDE went to Michael Delaney!

Ross o leary shirley gilmoreThere were a range of prizes presented for the inaugural league

The most Coveted Award for the Best ‘FEIC UP CUP’ went to Marc Coakley, with Theo Lyttle and Damian Maloney not far behind.

  1. Marc Coakley – for launching the wrong boat from the dinghy park – Marc was just about to push off the slip when he realised he launched some kids 4.7 rigged Laser while his own STD Laser was still on its launching trolley in the dinghy park!
  2. Theo Lyttle – for mixing up his 'Port' and 'Starboard' and hitting a few boats on the racecourse on one Saturday. ‘Jetlag’ was the excuse as he had an expensive evening buying apology pints.
  3. Damian Maloney – for the most spectacular downwind capsize you will ever see in 8 knots of wind on the last Saturday racing! But he rebounded with a spectacular bullet in the following race.

DBSC Laser fleet race on Tuesday evenings during the summer with training on Sunday morning for newcomers. Open to new and returning Laser sailors – it provides great racing for all levels and regular training that suits all abilities.

Thanks to the NYC, RIYC and RstGeorge YC for supporting the Laser League initiative.

Full results can be found here

Published in Laser Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

At A Glance – Laser Dinghy Specifications

Designer Bruce Kirby & Ian Bruce

Year 1969

Crew 1
Draft 0.787 m (2 ft 7.0 in)
Hull weight 58.97 kg (130.0 lb)
LOA 4.2 m (13 ft 9 in)
LWL 3.81 m (12 ft 6 in)
Beam 1.39 m (4 ft 7 in)
Mainsail area 7.06 m2 (76.0 sq ft)

Racing D-PN 91.1 RYA PN 1088 PHRF 217

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton

bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating