Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Rascal wins DBSC Cruiser 4

24th May 2010
Rascal wins DBSC Cruiser 4

Rascal wins Cruiser 4 in light winds in Saturdays Dublin Bay Sailing Club Racing.

BENETEAU 31.7 - ECHO 1. Dies Irae (Patrick Rowan), 2. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 3. Prospect (Chris Johnston)

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Prospect (Chris Johnston), 2. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 3. Levante (B.Leyden/M.Leahy)

CRUISERS 4 - 1. Rascal (K.Burke/S.Milner), 2. Maranda (Myles Kelly), 3. Ghrazel (Charles Pearson)

DRAGON - RACE 3 1. Chiang (Iain Finnegan), 2. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody), 3. Susele (Michael Halpenny)                

DRAGON - RACE 1 1. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody), 2. Phantom (D.Williams/P.Bowring), 3. Chiang (Iain Finnegan)

DRAGON - RACE 2 1. Phantom (D.Williams/P.Bowring), 2. Zu (P.Dee et al), 3. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody)

FLYING FIFTEEN - 1. Hy5ive (D & S Gorman), 2. Fifty Somethings (David Mulvin), 3. The Big Bow Wow (N.Meagher/N.Matthews)         

FLYING FIFTEEN RACE 2 - 1. Hy5ive (D & S Gorman), 2. Rollercoaster (Tom Murphy), 3. Snow White (Frank Burgess)                 

GLEN - 1. Glenshesk (L.Faulkner et al), 2. Glendun (B.Denham et al), 3. Glencree (J.Bligh/H.Roche)                                                   

MERMAID - 1. Lively Lady (G O'Neill & M Hanney), 2. Aideen (B.Martin/D.Brennan), 3. Kim (D Cassidy)                                                  

MERMAID - RACE 2 1. Lively Lady (G O'Neill & M Hanney), 2. Kim (D Cassidy), 3. Aideen (B.Martin/D.Brennan)                                                  

PY CLASS - 1. G Ryan/J MacAree (470), 2. Brendan McConville (Wayfarer)                                                                               

PY CLASS -RACE 2 1. G Ryan/J MacAree (470), 2. Brendan McConville (Wayfarer), 3. Amanda Ralph (Laser)                                                       

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Diane ll (Bruce Carswell), 2. Ruff N Ready (Ann Kirwan et al), 3. Paramour (Larry Power et al)                                       

SHIPMAN - 1. Whiterock (Henry Robinson), 2. Jo Slim (J.Clarke et al), 3. Invader (Gerard Glynn)                                                      

SIGMA 33 - 1. Rupert (R.Lovegrove/P.Varian), 2. Popje (Ted McCourt), 3. Moonshine (R.Moloney/D.O'Flynn)                                              

SQUIB - 1. Femme Fatale (Joe O'Byrne), 2. Anemos (Pete & Ann Evans), 3. Little Demon (Marie Dee)                                                     

SQUIB - RACE 2 1. Femme Fatale (Joe O'Byrne), 2. Nimble (Brian O'Hare), 3. Why Not (Derek & Jean Jago)                                                      

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - ECHO 1. Lucy O (Aonghus O hEocha), 2. Coumeenole (Bill Kavanagh), 3. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer)                                          

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer), 2. Windshift (R O'Flynn et al)

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Chris Moore of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating