Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Supernova Lights up Cruisers III on Dublin Bay

12th May 2012
Supernova Lights up Cruisers III on Dublin Bay

#DBSC – West north west winds ranging in strength from 9 knots to 20 brought Cruisers III Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack) its first wn of the Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) season this afternoon winning all four divisions of the new Cruisers III set-up for 2012.

In a big turnout in all classes for the third Saturday of the season Dublin bay also played host to the SB20 East coast championships.

Quest sailed by Jonathan Skerritt (who won the April 28th race) was second in Cruisers III A division on IRC handicap to the Bay champion Supernova with Jerry O'Neill's Jammie Dodger third.

There was no ISORA fixture so some of the offshore crews were back racing on inshore courses but a J109 winner offshore Joker II had to be content with third in Cruisers one. The Cruisers one race was won by the brand new J109 Ruth skippered by Liam Shanahan of the National Yacht Club.

In the one design classes the Squibs appear to have survived last week's leeward mark grounding in the shallows off Seapoint. Vicent Delaney's Femme Fatale won from Perfection (Jill Fleming). Third was Nimble (Brian O'Hare).

Full results for the Dublin Bay Sailing Club Results for 12 MAY 2012 below:

BENETEAU 31.7 Echo- 1. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 2. Prospect (Chris Johnston), 3. Dies Irae (Patrick Rowan)

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 2. Prospect (Chris Johnston), 3. Attitude (T Milner J Sugars M Branigan)

CRUISERS 0 Echo - 1. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 2. Wow (George Sisk), 3. Lively Lady (Derek Martin)

CRUISERS 0 - 1. Wow (George Sisk), 2. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 3. Loose Change (P Redden & M Mitton)

CRUISERS 1 Echo - 1. Jump The Gun (M.Monaghan/J.Kelly), 2. Megapolis (Peter Almann), 3. Jalapeno (Dermod Baker et al)

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Ruth (L Shanahan), 2. Jalapeno (Dermod Baker et al), 3. Joker 11 (John Maybury)

CRUISERS 2 Echo - 1. Peridot (Jim McCann et al), 2. Bendemeer (L Casey & D Power), 3. Dick Dastardly (B.Cusack et al)

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Peridot (Jim McCann et al), 2. Jawesome 11 (M Dyke & B Darcy), 3. Dick Dastardly (B.Cusack et al)

CRUISERS 3 Echo - 1. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 2. Grasshopper 2 (K & J Glynn), 3. Jammie Dodger (J.H & D.O'Neill)

CRUISERS 3 - 1. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 2. Quest (Jonathan Skerritt), 3. Jammie Dodger (J.H & D.O'Neill)

Combined Classes 3 - 1. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 2. Grasshopper 2 (K & J Glynn), 3. Jammie Dodger (J.H & D.O'Neill)

Combined Classes 3 - 1. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 2. Quest (Jonathan Skerritt), 3. Jammie Dodger (J.H & D.O'Neill)

DRAGON - 1. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody), 2. Aphrodite (Michael Doorly et al), 3. Susele (Michael Halpenny)

FIREBALL Race 1- 1. Blind Squirrel (Frank Miller), 2. No Name (McGuire & Chambers)

FLYING FIFTEEN Race 1- 1. Frequent Flyer (D Mulvin), 2. Rollercoaster (Tom Murphy), 3. Fflogger (Alan Dooley)

FLYING FIFTEEN Race 2- 1. Rollercoaster (Tom Murphy), 2. Fflogger (Alan Dooley), 3. Kooigjug (K Dumpleton)

GLEN - 1. Glendun (B.Denham et al), 2. Glencree (J.Bligh/H.Roche)

IDRA 14 FOOT Race 2- 1. Dart (Pierre Long), 2. Doody (J.Fitzgerald/J.Byrne)

IDRA 14 FOOT Race 1- 1. Dunmoanin (Frank Hamilton), 2. Doody (J.Fitzgerald/J.Byrne), 3. Dart (Pierre Long)

PY CLASS Race 2- 1. Barry Byrne (49er), 2. Colin Galavan (Laser), 3. P Keane (Laser 1)

PY CLASS Race 1- 1. P Keane (Laser 1), 2. Colin Galavan (Laser), 3. Hugh Sheehy (OK Dinghy)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Alias (D.Meeke/M.McCarthy), 2. Cresendo (L Balfe), 3. Ripples (Frank Bradley)

SHIPMAN - 1. Jo Slim (J.Clarke et al), 2. Curraglas (John Masterson), 3. Whiterock (Henry Robinson)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 2. Popje (Ted McCourt), 3. Rupert (R & P Lovegrove)

SQUIB Race 1- 1. Femme Fatale (V Delaney), 2. Perfection (Jill Fleming), 3. Nimble (Brian O'Hare)

SQUIB Race 2- 1. Pintail (M Muldoon & B Stevens), 2. Femme Fatale (V Delaney), 3. Perfection (Jill Fleming)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Zephyr (R Cahill-O'Brien), 2. Coumeenole (Bill Kavanagh), 3. Sea Safari (Jacquelin Smith)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Act Two (Michael O'Leary et al), 2. Vespucci (S & K O'Regan), 3. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer)

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.