Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Results for 4 July 2013

4th July 2013
Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Results for 4 July 2013

Dublin Bay Sailing Club Results for 4 JULY 2013

BENETEAU 31.7 Echo- 1. Attitude (T Milner J Sugars M Branigan), 2. Legally Blonde (C.Drohan/P.Egan), 3. Prospect (Chris Johnston)

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Prospect (Chris Johnston), 2. Levana (Jean Mitton), 3. After You Too (Michael Blaney)

CRUISERS 0 Echo - 1. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 2. Wow (George Sisk), 3. Lively Lady (Derek Martin)

CRUISERS 0 - 1. Wow (George Sisk), 2. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 3. Lively Lady (Derek Martin)

CRUISERS 1 Echo - 1. Gringo (Tony Fox), 2. Boomerang (Paul Kirwan), 3. Something Else (J.Hall et al)

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Gringo (Tony Fox), 2. Something Else (J.Hall et al), 3. Bon ExEmple ()

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Dick Dastardly (B.Cusack et al), 2. Peridot (Jim McCann et al), 3. Red Rhum (J Nicholson & C Nicholson)

CRUISERS 2 Echo - 1. Peridot (Jim McCann et al), 2. Dick Dastardly (B.Cusack et al), 3. Bendemeer (L Casey & D Power)

CRUISERS 3 A Echo - 1. Cri-Cri (P Colton), 2. Carrabeg (D.Martin/R.Deasy), 3. Quest (Jonathan Skerritt)

CRUISERS 3 A - 1. Quest (Jonathan Skerritt), 2. Cri-Cri (P Colton), 3. Jaws SeachangeNow (B Foley/J Bergon)

CRUISERS 3 B - 1. Asterix (Counihan/Meredith/Bushell), 2. Chouskikou (R Sheehan/R Hickey), 3. Gung Ho (G & S O'Shea)

CRUISERS 3 B Echo - 1. Small Wonder (H Kelly), 2. Chouskikou (R Sheehan/R Hickey), 3. Syzrgy (R Fogarty)

FLYING FIFTEEN - 1. The Gruffalo (Keith Poole), 2. Flyer (Niall Coleman), 3. Mellifluence (T Leonard & B Mulligan)

GLEN - 1. Glendun (B.Denham et al), 2. Glenariff (Adrian Lee), 3. Glenmarissa (F.Elmes/W.Higgins)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Ruff Nuff (D & C Mitchell), 2. Ruffles (Michael Cutliffe), 3. Bandit (Kirwan/Cullen/Brown)

SB3s - 1. Should be... (Michael O'Connor), 2. Bad (J.Dowling), 3. Bom Chickawahwah (John O'Driscoll)

SHIPMAN - 1. Curraglas (John Masterson), 2. Jo Slim (J.Clarke et al), 3. Malindi (B.Smith/A.Gray)

SIGMA 33 - 1. White Mischief (Timothy Goodbody), 2. Popje (Ted McCourt), 3. Moonshine (R.Moloney)

SQUIB - 1. Kookaburra (P & M Dee), 2. Why Not (Derek & Jean Jago), 3. Little Demon (Sheila Power)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS Echo - 1. Persistence (C. Broadhead et al), 2. More Mischief (Eamonn Doyle), 3. Zephyr (R Cahill-O'Brien)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Persistence (C. Broadhead et al), 2. Act Two (Michael O'Leary et al), 3. Xerxes (Dan O'Neill)

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.