Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Results for Thursday, 5 May 2016

5th May 2016
Gringo (Tony Fox) was third in cruisers one IRC handicap in tonight's DBSC race Gringo (Tony Fox) was third in cruisers one IRC handicap in tonight's DBSC race Credit:

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Results for Thursday, 5 May 2016

BENETEAU 31.7 Echo- 1. Harmony (Chris Johnston), 2. Fiddly Bits (Timmins/Quigley/Murray/Breen), 3. Attitude (T Milner J Sugars M Branigan)

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Harmony (Chris Johnston), 2. Levana (Jean Mitton), 3. Crazy Horse (F Heath & I Schuster)

CRUISER 5A - 1. Persistence (C. Broadhead et al), 2. Act Two (Michael O'Leary et al), 3. Xerxes (Dan O'Neill)

CRUISER 5A Echo - 1. Xerxes (Dan O'Neill), 2. Just Jasmin (Philip Smith), 3. Aurora (Ray Conway)

CRUISER 5B - 1. Cevantes (P Conway), 2. More Mischief (E Doyle & P O'Toole), 3. Menapia (J Sweeney)

CRUISER 5B Echo - 1. More Mischief (E Doyle & P O'Toole), 2. Cevantes (P Conway), 3. Sweet Martini (B Carswell)

CRUISERS 0 Echo - 1. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 2. Lively Lady (Derek Martin), 3. Wow (George Sisk)

CRUISERS 0 - 1. Wow (George Sisk), 2. Lively Lady (Derek Martin)

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Bon Exemple (C Byrne), 2. White Mischief (Tim Goodbody), 3. Gringo (Tony Fox)

CRUISERS 1 Echo - 1. White Mischief (Tim Goodbody), 2. Bon Exemple (C Byrne), 3. Dear Prudence (B Lyons & J Given)

CRUISERS 2 Echo - 1. Antix (D Ryan), 2. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 3. Peridot (Jim McCann et al)

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 2. Bendemeer (L Casey & D Power)

CRUISERS 3 A Echo - 1. Huggy Bear (Doyle & Byrne), 2. Papytoo (M.Walsh/F.Guilfoyle), 3. Grasshopper 2 (K & J Glynn)

CRUISERS 3 A - 1. Huggy Bear (Doyle & Byrne), 2. Cries of Passion (B Maguire)

CRUISERS 3 B - 1. Asterix (Counihan/Meredith/Bushell), 2. Gung Ho (G & S O'Shea), 3. Maranda (Myles Kelly)

CRUISERS 3 B Echo - 1. Chinook (A Bradley), 2. Wynward (W McCormack), 3. Saki (Paget McCormack et al)

Combined Classes Echo - 1. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 2. Leeuwin (H Leonard & B Kerr), 3. Antix (D Ryan)

Combined Classes - 1. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 2. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 3. Rupert (R & P Lovegrove)

DRAGON - 1. Dublin Bay (G Treacy), 2. Phantom (D.Williams), 3. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody)

FLYING FIFTEEN - 1. Ignis Caput (David Mulvin), 2. Flyer (Niall Coleman), 3. Gulfstream (A Cooper)

GLEN - 1. Glendun (B.Denham et al), 2. Glencoe (Rose Mary Craig et al), 3. Glenshane (P Hogan)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Ruffles (Michael Cutliffe), 2. Bandit (Kirwan/Cullen/Brown), 3. Ruff Nuff (D & C Mitchell)

SB20 - 1. Sacrebleu (R Hayes & C Galavan), 2. Probably (B Riordan), 3. Sunday Brunch (P O'Brien & D Dwyer)

SHIPMAN - 1. Jo Slim (J.Clarke et al), 2. Curraglas (John Masterson), 3. Invader (Gerard Glynn)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 2. Leeuwin (H Leonard & B Kerr), 3. Rupert (R & P Lovegrove)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 2. Rupert (R & P Lovegrove), 3. Leeuwin (H Leonard & B Kerr)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 2. Rupert (R & P Lovegrove), 3. Leeuwin (H Leonard & B Kerr)

SQUIB - 1. Absolutely Fabulous (M Kennedy/P Reilly), 2. Perfection (Jill Fleming)

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.