Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

DBSC To Commemorate Members Killed in World War One at 'Turkey Shoot' Start

9th November 2018
DBSC will remember its own members who died in the conflict with a brief ceremony before the start of Turkey Shoot racing this Sunday DBSC will remember its own members who died in the conflict with a brief ceremony before the start of Turkey Shoot racing this Sunday

This weekend's DBSC Winter sailing fixture will remember club members who died in the conflict of World War One with a brief ceremony before the start of 'Turkey Shoot' racing this Sunday afternoon. The club's Honorary Secretary Donal O'Sullivan relates the story of sailing in Dublin Bay in 1914.

During the First World War, the naval authorities banned sailing in Dublin Bay. The reason given by Admiral Le Marchant to the flag officers of the Dun Laoghaire (then Kingstown) clubs was “that the presence of many boats who would have to be kept under observation every time they entered and left the harbour would be an inconvenience to his officers. 

Not stated was a likely reason why this observation might be deemed necessary – a number of prominent yachtsmen had been involved in landing the arms for use by the by the Irish volunteers. Besides Erskine Childers, there had been Conor O’Brien, whose bust graces the vestibule of the Royal Irish Yacht Club, and Sir Thomas Myles, former president of the Royal College of Surgeons, honorary surgeon in Ireland to King George V and member of the Royal St. George Yacht Club and the Royal Irish Yacht Club.

But it was a time of conflicted loyalties. A large group of the DBSC membership (sixty-eight) volunteered for service in the British forces. Eight were killed in action. These included the Club’s Commodore, Viscount Crichton, M.V. O, and D.S.O. who died in the early stages of the war. The list reads as follows: W.P. Bridge (corporal Royal Dublin Fusiliers), J.E. Burke (Lieutenant, Royal Dublin Fusiliers), R.B Clegg, Viscount Crichton (Major, Royal Horse Guards), Herbert S. Findlater (corporal, Royal Dublin Fusiliers), F.A. Marrable (Royal Dublin Fusiliers), Harry North and E.T. Weatherell (Lieutenant, Royal Dublin Fusiliers).

On Sunday, 11th November many in Ireland will be remembering the deaths of family members in the war. In the afternoon DBSC will remember its own members who died in the conflict with a brief ceremony before the start of Turkey Shoot racing.

The procedure on Sunday is as follows:
Sound Signal. Reading from the committee vessel of the names of DBSC members killed in action during the First World War. Sound Signal and flags lowered. One minute silence. Sound signal. Flags raised.
Competitors are asked to observe the minute’s silence.

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Chris Moore of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating