Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Murphy on Form in DBSC Laser Saturday Racing

11th July 2021
A start of the DBSC Laser class on Scotsman's Bay
The start of the second DBSC Laser class on Scotsman's Bay Credit: Afloat

Former Dublin Bay Sailing Club Class Captain Gavan Murphy took a first and two second places in Saturday's three DBSC Laser races.

Racing for the dinghy classes was held in Scotsman's Bay in an eight to ten-knot warm southerly breeze.

There was another excellent turnout of 135 boats across all classes.

A top three results summary is below  

DBSC Results for 10/07/2021

Race 1

Cruiser 0 IRC: 1. Prima Forte, 2. Wow

Cruiser 0 Echo: 1. Wow, 2. Prima Forte

Cruiser 1 IRC: 1. Bon Exemple, 2. White Mischief, 3. Jalapeno

Cruiser 1 Echo: 1. Indecision, 2. Jump the Gun, 3. Bon Exemple

Cruiser 1 J109: 1. White Mischief, 2. Jalapeno, 3. Something Else

31.7 One Design: 1. Prospect, 2. Kernach, 3. Levante

31.7 Echo: 1. Kernach, 2. Bluefin Two, 3. Levante

Cruiser 2 IRC: 1. Windjammer, 2. Leeuwin, 3. Rupert

Cruiser 2 Echo: 1. Leeuwin, 2. Springer, 3. Rupert

Cruiser 2 Sigma 33: 1. Leeuwin, 2. Rupert, 3. Springer

Cruiser 3 IRC: 1. Starlet, 2. Krypton, 3. Maranda

Cruiser 3 Echo: 1. Saki, 2. Krypton, 3. Papytoo

Cruiser 4 NS-IRC: 1. Boomerang, 2. RunAway

Cruiser 4 Echo: 1. Boomerang, 2. RunAway

Cruiser 5 NS-IRC: 1. Playtime, 2. Prima Luce, 3. Persistance

Cruiser 5 Echo: 1. Playtime, 2. Just Jasmin, 3. Sweet Martini

SB20: 1. So Blue, 2. Ted, 3. Carpe Diem

Dragon: 1. ZinZan, 2. D-cision

Ruffian: 1. Ruffles, 2. Bandit, 3. Ripples

Shipman: 1. Invader, 2. Viking, 3. Poppy

Glen: 1. GlenDun, 2. Glenluce, 3. Glencree

PY Class: 1. B & C O'Neill, 2. Sarah Dwyer, 3. Stephen Oram

IDRA 14: 1. Dart, 2. Doody, 3. Dunmoanin

Laser Standard: 1. Gavan Murphy, 2. Theo Lyttle, 3. Robbie Walker

Laser Radial: 1. Sean Craig, 2. Marco Sorgassi, 3. Oisin Hughes

Race 2

SB20: 1. Ted, 2. So Blue, 3. Carpe Diem

Flying 15: 1. Enfant de Marie, 2. Ignis Caput II, 3. Fflagella

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jambiya, 2. Jheetah

Sportsboat: 1. Jambiya, 2. Ram Jam, 3. Jheetah

Dragon: 1. ZinZan, 2. D-cision

Ruffian: 1. Ruffles, 2. Ripples, 3. Bandit

B211 One Design: 1. Chinook, 2. Small Wonder, 3. Billy Whizz

B211 Echo: 1. Small Wonder, 2. Billy Whizz, 3. Vamoose

Squib/MermaidPY: 1. Lively Lady, 2. Jill, 3. Aideen

PY Class: 1. Stephen Oram, 2. Richard Tate, 3. Sarah Dwyer

IDRA 14: 1. Dunmoanin, 2. Doody, 3. Dart

Fireball: 1. Owen Sinnott, 2. Paul ter Horst

Laser Standard: 1. Robbie Walker, 2. Gavan Murphy, 3. Conor Roche

Laser Radial: 1. Sean Craig, 2. Hugh O'Connor, 3. Oisin Hughes

Race 3

PY Class: 1. Stephen Oram, 2. Richard Tate, 3. Sarah Dwyer

IDRA 14: 1. Dart, 2. Doody, 3. Dunmoanin

Fireball: 1. Owen Sinnott, 2. Paul ter Horst

Laser Standard: 1. Theo Lyttle, 2. Gavan Murphy, 3. Peter Foster

Laser Radial: 1. Sean Craig, 2. Marco Sorgassi, 3. David Cahill

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating