Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

SB20 Sea Biscuit Takes DBSC Race Win in Saturday Racing

24th July 2021
Barry Glavin and Niall O’Riordan's SB20 Sea Biscuit was a race winner in Saturday's DBSC racing
Barry Glavin and Niall O’Riordan's SB20 Sea Biscuit was a race winner in Saturday's DBSC racing Credit: Afloat

Barry Glavin and Niall O’Riordan's Sea Biscuit from the Royal St George Yacht Club was the winner of the first race of Saturday's Dublin Bay Sailing Club SB20 fixture.

113 boats across all the DBSC classes enjoyed a moderate ENE wind in sunny weather on the bay.

Second to Sea Biscuit was Jerry Dowling and Enda O’Coineen's Bad/Kilcullen from the Royal Irish Yacht Club. Third was Charlotte O’Kelly's Sneaky B from the National Yacht Club.

The class sailed two races and a results summary is below.

In the Cruiser classes, Patrick Burke's Prima Forte from the Royal Irish was the Cruiser 0 IRC race winner with Vincent Farrell's Tsunami from the National Yacht Club in second and Rodney and Keith Martin's RIYC based Lively Lady in third.

There was damage (pictured below) in the Cruisers One division after a collision between two J109s. 

Hull damaged after a collision between two J109s Hull damaged after a collision between two J109s

Results below:

DBSC Results for 24/07/2021

Race 1

Cruiser 0 IRC: 1. Prima Forte, 2. Tsunami, 3. Lively Lady

Cruiser 0 Echo: 1. Prima Forte, 2. Lively Lady, 3. Tsunami

Cruiser 1 IRC: 1. White Mischief, 2. Bon Exemple, 3. Raptor

Cruiser 1 Echo: 1. Raptor, 2. Indecision, 3. Gringo

Cruiser 1 J109: 1. White Mischief, 2. Dear Prudence, 3. Indecision

31.7 One Design: 1. Prospect, 2. Levante, 3. Bluefin Two

31.7 Echo: 1. Levante, 2. Bluefin Two, 3. Attitude

Cruiser 2 IRC: 1. Windjammer, 2. Peridot, 3. Springer

Cruiser 2 Echo: 1. Peridot, 2. Windjammer, 3. Gwili II

Cruiser 2 Sigma 33: 1. Gwili II, 2. Springer, 3. Rupert

Cruiser 3 IRC: 1. Starlet, 2. Maranda, 3. Krypton

Cruiser 3 Echo: 1. Pamafe, 2. Starlet, 3. Maranda

Cruiser 5 NS-IRC: 1. Playtime, 2. Prima Luce, 3. Gung Ho

Cruiser 5 Echo: 1. Just Jasmin, 2. Playtime, 3. Prima Luce

SB20: 1. SeaBiscuit, 2. Bad/Kilcullen, 3. Sneaky B

Flying 15: 1. Shane MacCarthy, 2. Rodriguez, 3. A Mere Triffle

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jawesome III, 2. Ram Jam, 3. Jheetah

Sportsboat: 1. George 2, 2. Jawesome III, 3. Ram Jam

Dragon: 1. Sir Ossis o'the River, 2. ZinZan

Ruffian: 1. Ruffles, 2. Ripples, 3. Carmen

Shipman: 1. Invader, 2. Jo Slim 5, 3. Ruadh

B211 One Design: 1. Chinook, 2. Small Wonder, 3. Billy Whizz

B211 Echo: 1. Chinook, 2. Small Wonder, 3=. Billy Whizz, 3=. Beeswing

Glen: 1. Glenluce, 2. Pterodactyl, 3. GlenDun

Squib/Mermaid PY: 1. Aideen, 2. Allsorts, 3. Periquin

PY Class: 1. Teddy Byrne, 2. Richard Tate

IDRA 14: 1. Slipway, 2. Dart, 3. Doody

Laser Standard: 1. Gavan Murphy, 2. Conor Roche

Laser Radial: 1. David Cahill, 2. Sean Craig, 3. Shirley Gilmore

Race 2

SB20: 1. Bad/Kilcullen, 2. SeaBiscuit, 3. Sneaky B

Flying 15: 1. Shane MacCarthy, 2. Phoenix, 3. Ignis Caput II

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jambiya, 2. Ram Jam, 3. Jheetah

Sportsboat: 1. George 2, 2. Jambiya, 3. Ram Jam

Ruffian: 1. Ruffles, 2. Carmen, 3. Ripples

B211 One Design: 1. Small Wonder, 2. Billy Whizz, 3. Ocean Venture

B211 Echo: 1. Small Wonder, 2. Billy Whizz, 3. Vamoose

Squib/Mermaid PY: 1. Periquin, 2. Allsorts, 3. Aideen

PY Class: 1. Teddy Byrne, 2. Richard Tate

IDRA 14: 1. Dart, 2. Doody

Laser Standard: 1. Gavan Murphy, 2. Conor Roche

Laser Radial: 1. Sean Craig, 2. Shirley Gilmore, 3. David Cahill

DBSC Results for 24/07/2021
Published in DBSC, SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating