Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Cutliffe's 'Ruffles' is Ruffian 23 Class DBSC Thursday Night Race Winner

8th June 2023
Michael Cutliffe's Ruffles from the DMYC leads overall after seven races sailed in the Ruffian 23 class of the AIB DBSC Summer Series racing on Dublin Bay
Michael Cutliffe's Ruffles from the DMYC leads overall after seven races sailed in the Ruffian 23 class of the AIB DBSC Summer Series racing on Dublin Bay Credit: Afloat

Michael Cutliffe's Ruffles was the winner of Thursday night's (June 7th) Ruffian 23 class AIB DBSC Summer Series racing on Dublin Bay.

A day of strong winds gave way to another light easterly wind on the Bay for evening racing.

The DMYC yacht finished ahead of Ann Kirwan's Bandit from the National Yacht Club. Third in the five-boat race was David Meeke's Alias.

After seven races sailed in the series, Ruffles leads on 4 points from Stephen Gill's Shannagh on 8, with Brendan Duffy's Carmen in third place on 11.

Full results in all DBSC classes below.

Meanwhile, the Irish Ruffian 23 will celebrate its Golden Jubilee at Portaferry Sailing Club in Northern Ireland from June 15th, as Afloat reports here.

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.