Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Kinsale Frostbite Concludes (Prizegiving Photos here!)

27th February 2012
Kinsale Frostbite Concludes (Prizegiving Photos here!)

#KINSALE –  Conditions for the final day of the ASM-Marine Frostbite League at Kinsale Yacht Club last Sunday morning did not look promising initially. The approaching weak warm front, attended by early mist and drizzle, however was accompanied by a steady and persistent South Westerly Force 2 gentle breeze which by race time had strengthened to a welcome Force 3. Racing was followed by a prizegiving, photos below by Brian Carlin. RACING PHOTOS HERE.

Though the usual six week programme as previously reported, had been interrupted by the loss of two days of racing, the Race Committee with the completion of three final races brought the total number to fourteen with three discards applying.

Though the spoils were equally shared in the Laser Standard Fleet on Sunday with Ronan Kenneally (MBSC), James Long (ISKC) and Robert Howe (MBSC) each securing a win, a second and a third, it was Ronan with his outstanding performance of seven straight wins in the early part of the league that that eventually won him the title in this class. His total of eight wins over the series was only to be matched by James and Bruce in the Squib Class.

Darragh O'Sullivan (KYC) in the Laser Radial Fleet, relentlessly making up ground for four races missed earlier, eventually sealed the top spot in this fleet with a flawless performance of three wins and took the KYC Trophy for Best Performance by a Local Sailor in this class. Fellow competitor Eoin Cotter (KYC) saw his overall lead disappear as he scored three fourths, leaving him just four points behind overall. Equally Dermot Lyden's (RCYC/BSC) late surge, with a second and two thirds saw him jump ahead of Tomas Scanlon (Bantry Bay SC) and take third place overall in this very competitive fleet. Though unable to complete the series, Seafra Guilfoyle (RCYC) is to be congratulated for his six wins in total in earlier weeks.

Holding the top place in the Laser 4.7 Fleet from day one, Cian Byrne (RCYC) did enough to retain that position by five points overall with a third, a fifth and a second. His earlier six wins being the foundation of his eventual victory. Sorcha Ni Shuilleabhain (KYC) with improving performances over the past few weeks, saw her final two wins and a third move her up one place into second overall. Unfortunately, Ross O'Sullivan (KYC) had to concede that second place overall despite a win in the second race, as he also scored a seventh and a fourth. Cliodhna O'Regan held her fourth place overall by virtue of her final two seconds and a third.

James and Bruce Matthews (KYC) in Mucky Duck, in their first attempt in the Squib Fleet, expectedly ran out the eventual winners. With eight wins and never out of the top three in any race, their overall advantage of eleven points going into the final day looked unassailable – no pun intended. This did not deter the improving Colm Dunne and Mark Buckley (KYC) in Yacht Services Ireland to have a final flourish and commendably scored a first, a second and a fourth. Marcus Hutchinson's Sensation (KYC) crewed on the day by Victor Fusco and Michele Kennelly scoring a second, a third and a fifth ended the series two points adrift of Yacht Services. Bobby Nash and Mike Walsh (KYC) improving steadily , waited on the final race on the final day to make their mark with a win and ended the series in fourth.

Prize-Giving was attended by KYC Commodore Cameron Good who congratulated the deserving winners and thanked all the sailors for their efforts. Special mention went to PRO Bruce Mathews for his continuing and enthusiastic support, the KYC organizers, the Sponsor and all those who had helped both on and off the water to make this annual event such an enjoyable regatta. Bruce Matthews in his reply highlighted the continuing support of each class and his appreciation of the contribution of the Committee Boat members. The Commodore awarded the prizes for each class which were presented by Agnes McLaverty on behalf of ASM-Marine. Bruce Matthews closed the proceedings with the presentation of the KYC Trophies for the Best Local Performance in the Laser to Darragh O'Sullivan, and the Squib Trophy which was awarded to James and Bruce Matthews.

Published in Kinsale Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating