Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Royal Cork Yacht Club Annual Super League Prize Giving Evening

9th November 2015
Royal Cork Superleague Prizewinners – scroll down for more prizegiving photos below Bob Bateman

Saturday night saw the Royal Cork Yacht Club annual Super League prize giving dinner take place and a very enjoyable evening it was too writes Claire Bateman. Admiral Pat Lyons and the Lady Admiral, Ann, together with the ever hard working Rear Admiral Keelboats, Kieran O’Connell, entertained Sponsors and invited guests.

DSC 3452

Rear Admiral Keelboats, Kieran O’Connell and Des McWilliam with the crew of Sea Hawk. Picture Robert Bateman

The events involved were the UK McWilliam May League (pcitured above), the North Sails Sunday Morning League, the Union Chandlery June League, the Coastal events, the Marshall Textiles July League, the Royal Cork September League and the September Naval Race.

Also awarded on the night was a glittering array of magnificent perpetual trophies and these combined with the awarding of the Super League trophies kept the Lady Admiral very occupied for the evening as she graciously assisted the Rear Admiral Keelboats with the presentations to the sound of cheers, applause and camera phones by the dozen appearing to float through the air.

DSC 3450

Conor Phelan and the crew of Jump Juice receiving the Boat of the Year trophy from the Lady Admiral. Picture Robert Bateman

The much coveted Boat of the Year Award was presented to a surprised but delighted Conor Phelan (above) and listed in his crew was Nigel Young. Nigel of North Sails who was accompanied to the Super League evening by his wife Fiona, is a generous sponsor to the club and this season sponsored the Sunday Morning North Sails League.

DSC 3443

Rear Admiral Keelboats, Kieran O’Connell, John Murphy representing Scribbler 2 and Julie Anne McDonnell. Photo: Robert Bateman.

The Martin McDonnell Trophy for the Whitesail Boat of the Year was won by Tom MacSweeny's Scribbler 11 and collected by John Murphy in Tom's absence (above).  Julie Anne McDonnell presented the trophy in memory of her late father and her mother, Carol, was also present at the evening.

The Club Boat of the Year was hotly contested and came down a one point difference in favour of Clem and Wendy McElligot’s Sea Hawk over Leonard Donnery’s ‘No Gnomes’. This battle was for the ‘Stack Polly’ trophy, that was a very well known boat in the Royal Cork Yacht Club and was presented on behalf of John McWilliam by his brother Des who spoke briefly on the history of the vessel.

DSC 3435

A light hearted moment as Martin Darrer accepts the Breffni McGovern Trophy from the Lady Admiral watched by Kieran O’Connell, Rear Admiral Keelboats. Picture Robert Bateman

Other trophy winners were The Phelan Trophy for IRC went to True Pennance, The Phelan Trophy for ECHO went to Tux, the H. Harling Trophy went to Heroes and Villians, the Harold Cudmore Trophy went to Bad Company, the Clytie Cup went to Sea Hawk, the Atlantic Fleet Galleon went to Thistle, the H Howard Gould Trophy went to Cosmic, the First Sloop Flotilla went to Minx 111, the Sans Souci Trophy went to Tux, the Hugh Smith Barry trophy went to Alpaca, the Bayona Trophy went to YaGottaWanna, the Breffni McGovern trophy went to True Pennance, the Smelter Valley Trophy went to Jedi, the Muckley Trophy went to YaGottaWanna, The Admiral Doyle Plate went to Loch Greine and finally, the Jim Donegan Plate went to Sea Hawk.

Thus ended the formal formal proceedings of the evening but your scribe is in no doubt the festivities continued well into the night.

DSC 3473DSC 3467DSC 3462DSC 3440DSC 3438DSC 3419DSC 3423DSC 3426DSC 3408DSC 3411DSC 3394DSC 3400DSC 3398DSC 3396DSC 3391DSC 3376DSC 3381DSC 3387DSC 3370

Published in Royal Cork YC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating