Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

afloat headers RORC

RORC Has Exciting Lineup for the RORC De Guingand Bowl Race in The Solent

15th May 2024
The RORC De Guingand Bowl Race starts this Saturday
The RORC De Guingand Bowl Race starts this Saturday Credit: Paul Wyeth

Saturday's (May 18th) RORC 160 nautical mile De Guingand Bowl Race will start off the Royal Yacht Squadron line.

Almost uniquely in the RORC series, the De Guingand Bowl Race starts and finishes in The Solent. This allows the RORC Race team to devise a course that is both tactical and strategic without the influence of a pre-determined route. The racetrack will be decided just 24 hours from the start, depending on weather conditions.

Tim Goodhew and Kelvin Matthews racing Sun Fast 3200 Cora Photo: Paul WyethTim Goodhew and Kelvin Matthews racing Sun Fast 3200 Cora Photo: Paul Wyeth

Nineteen teams will be competing for Race One of the 2024 IRC Two Handed National Championship. Tim Goodhew & Kelvin Matthews racing Sun Fast 3200 Cora (GB) are the reigning champions, having won both races for the championship last year. Tough British opposition to Cora includes Rob Craigie & RORC Commodore Deb Fish racing Sun Fast 3600 Bellino and Ian Hoddle’s Sun Fast 3300 Game On, racing with Ollie Wyatt. Top overseas competition includes Astrid de Vin & Roeland Franssens with JPK 1030 Il Corvo (NED) and two French Sun Fast 3200s: Philippe Benaben’s Platypus and Oliver Hays Kia Ora. Hamish Pimm’s pocket-rocket Dehler 30 Black Betty (GBR) is the highest rated double-handed entry, all be it the smallest boat in the race.

Eric de Turckheim’s NMD 54 Teasing Machine (FRA) Photo: Paul WyethEric de Turckheim’s NMD 54 Teasing Machine (FRA) Photo: Paul Wyeth

The fastest boat on rating for this year’s De Guingand Bowl Race is Eric de Turckheim’s NMD 54 Teasing Machine (FRA) which was second overall for the 2023 RORC Season’s Points Championship.

Mark Emerson’s A13 Phosphorous II (GBR) Photo: James MitchellMark Emerson’s A13 Phosphorous II (GBR) Photo: James Mitchell

Competition in IRC Zero will come from Mark Emerson’s A13 Phosphorous II (GBR) which is the current leader for IRC Zero for 2024. The De Graaf family’s Ker 43 Barak GP (NED) will be taking part in their second race of the season.

 Derek Shakespeare’s J/122 Bulldog Photo: Paul Wyeth Derek Shakespeare’s J/122 Bulldog Photo: Paul Wyeth

In IRC One, Sport Nautique Club’s Xp44 Orange Mecanix 2 (FRA) will be once again skippered by Maxime de Mareuil. Two J/122s will do battle with RORC Treasurer Derek Shakespeare’s Bulldog (GBR) up against Tim Tolcher’s Raging Bull 4 (GBR).

Racing fully-crewed in IRC Two are three highly successful RORC regulars: Trevor Middleton’s Sun Fast 3600 Black Sheep (GBR), overall winner of the Cervantes Trophy Race. Multiple season class champion, Ross Applebey’s Oyster 48 Scarlet Oyster (GBR) and the Army Sailing Association’s Sun Fast 3600 Fujitsu British Soldier (GBR). The oldest boat in the race is the 1973 Admiral’s Cupper, Nicholson 55 Quailo III, owned by Andrew Tseng.

Andrew Tseng's Nicholson 55 Quailo III Photo: Rick TomlinsonAndrew Tseng's Nicholson 55 Quailo III Photo: Rick Tomlinson

Three Sun Fast 30 One Designs will have their own personal battle in IRC Two. Kevin Armstrong’s Cap Altair will be racing Two-Handed with Joza Cic. Their one design opposition will be two Sun Fast 30s chartered to the RORC and fully-crewed by the Griffin Youth Squad. Charlie Muldoon skippers Cap Polaris and Matt Beecher skippers Cap Sela.

Sun Fast 30 ODs Cap Sela & Cap Polaris Photo: Paul WyethSun Fast 30 ODs Cap Sela & Cap Polaris Photo: Paul Wyeth

IRC Three has eleven entries with Sun Fast 3200 Cora as one of the favourites. Rob Cotterill’s J/109 Mojo Risin (GBR) pushed Cora all the way last year, claiming runner-up on IRC corrected time and third overall by just under seven minutes. Two J/99s will also be in the mix: Jean-Lin Flipo’s Yalla! (FRA) and Mark Kendall’s Jiro (GBR).

Rob Cotterill’s J/109 Mojo Risin' Photo: Paul WyethRob Cotterill’s J/109 Mojo Risin' Photo: Paul Wyeth

As with all RORC Offshore races, the overall winner will be decided by the best elapsed time after IRC time correction. The De Guingand Bowl is the prize, named after E.P. Buster de Guingand. A RORC Vice Commodore in the 1960s, Buster played an integral part in steering the American CCA and RORC rules into a combined IOR rule in 1969.

2024 De Guingand Bowl Race entries are here 

Published in RORC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button


  • Established in 1925, The Royal Ocean Racing Club (RORC) became famous for the biennial Fastnet Race and the international team event, the Admiral's Cup. It organises an annual series of domestic offshore races from its base in Cowes as well as inshore regattas including the RORC Easter Challenge and the IRC European Championship (includes the Commodores' Cup) in the Solent
  • The RORC works with other yacht clubs to promote their offshore races and provides marketing and organisational support. The RORC Caribbean 600, based in Antigua and the first offshore race in the Caribbean, has been an instant success. The 10th edition took place in February 2018. The RORC extended its organisational expertise by creating the RORC Transatlantic Race from Lanzarote to Grenada, the first of which was in November 2014
  • The club is based in St James' Place, London, but after a merger with The Royal Corinthian Yacht Club in Cowes now boasts a superb clubhouse facility at the entrance to Cowes Harbour and a membership of over 4,000