Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Lightweights Top Rankings at Rowing Assessment

27th November 2011
Lightweights Top Rankings at Rowing Assessment
#ROWING–Claire Lambe topped the rankings at the second on-the-water session at the National Rowing Assessment in Newry today. The UCD woman’s time of 22 minutes 29.8 seconds for the 5,000 metres ranked her at 83.5 per cent of projected gold medal winning time for an under-23 lightweight sculler. Siobhan McCrohan was actually over 23 seconds faster, and by rating 82.9 per cent as a senior lightweight woman also impressed. The fastest man on the water was lightweight sculler Mark O’Donovan, who clocked 20 minutes 21.6 seconds – faster than top heavyweight Colin Williamson.


 Rowing Ireland
Results Time Trial 26th November 2011
Row Labels Time %GMT
Colin Williamson (QUBBC) HM 20:29.7 79.7%
David Neale (UCD ) HM 21:01.6 77.7%
Eddie Mullarkey (NUIGBC) HMU23 21:11.9 78.2%
Patrick Hughes (DUBC) HMU23 21:37.8 76.7%
Finbarr Manning (UCD ) HMU23 21:44.7 76.3%
Matthew Wray (Bann RC) HMU20 22:51.2 72.6%
Mark O'Donovan (CITRC) LM 20:21.6 81.9%
Anthony English (UCCRC) LM 20:42.3 80.5%
Nathan O'Reilly (Tideway Scullers School) LM 21:10.1 78.7%
Niall Kenny (NUIGBC) LM 21:17.4 78.3%
Colm Dowling (Lee Valley R.C.) LM 21:34.0 77.3%
Justin Ryan (UCCRC) LMU23 20:54.0 81.7%
Shane O'Driscoll (CIT) LMU23 21:00.3 81.3%
Jonathan Mitchell (QUBBC) LMU23 21:03.6 81.1%
Adam O'Donohue (Carlow RC) LMU23 22:08.0 77.2%
Colin Barrett (UCD ) LMU23 22:42.1 75.3%
Sanita Puspure (OCBC) HW 21:48.7 81.2%
Holly Nixon (Portora BC) HWU20 22:22.2 81.0%
Monika Dukarska (Killorglin RC) HWU23 22:48.4 79.5%
Siobhan McCrohan (Tribesmen RC) LW 22:06.2 82.9%
Claire Lambe (UCDBC) LWU23 22:29.8 83.5%
Sinead Dolan (DULBC) LWU23 23:31.8 79.9%
Aoife Leahy (St Michaels) LWU20 24:12.5 77.6%
Hilary Shinnick (Fermoy RC) WJ17 23:31.8 79.0%
Bernadett Walsh (Skibbereen R.C.) WJ17 23:33.2 78.9%
Bridget Jacques (BBC) WJ17 23:37.2 78.7%
Kate O'Brien (St Michaels) WJ18 23:53.4 77.8%
Sally O'Brien (Neptune R.C.) WJ18 23:54.9 77.7%
Katie Cromie (Portora BC) WJ18 23:55.2 77.7%
Fionna Murtagh (GRC) WJ17 24:00.3 77.4%
Megan McLaughlin (Cork BC) WJ16 24:06.7 77.1%
Sarah Higgins (Cork BC) WJ18 24:11.9 76.8%
Laura Connelly (Skibbereen R.C.) WJ18 24:16.0 76.6%
Sarah Allen (Bann RC) WJ18 24:16.9 76.5%
Eimear Byrne (Neptune R.C.) WJ18 24:19.9 76.4%
Sadhbh Cassidy (Neptune R.C.) WJ18 24:24.0 76.2%
Phoebe Mulligan (Portora BC) WJ17 24:35.3 75.6%
Roisin Merz (Shandon B.C.) WJ18 24:35.5 75.6%
Hanna O'Sullivan (St Michaels) WJ18 24:36.0 75.5%
Ruth Gilligan (Shannon RC) WJ17 24:42.8 75.2%
Jasmine English (MCB) WJ16 24:50.9 74.8%
Laura Coleman (Shandon B.C.) WJ18 24:56.8 74.5%
Lucie Litvack (BBC) WJ18 24:57.1 74.5%
Katherine Cremin (Muckross RC) WJ16 24:57.3 74.5%
Lauren McHugh (Shannon RC) WJ17 25:00.4 74.3%
Megan Donnegan (Castleconnell Boat Club) WJ17 25:01.3 74.3%
Aileen Crowley (Muckross RC) WJ18 25:02.2 74.2%
Claire Silke (Castleconnell Boat Club) WJ16 25:02.8 74.2%
Emily Hutchinson (Bann RC) WJ18 25:11.0 73.8%
Ella Ciallis (Skibbereen R.C.) WJ18 25:16.5 73.5%
Kara O'Connor (Muckross RC) WJ16 25:18.3 73.4%
Laura Kilbane (Cork BC) WJ16 25:18.8 73.4%
Claire Beechinor (Cork BC) WJ16 25:20.4 73.3%
Megan Donnelly (GRC) WJ16 25:26.6 73.0%
Kellie Wade (GRC) WJ17 25:27.2 73.0%
Zoe Hyde (Killorglin RC) WJ16 25:34.2 72.7%
Hanna McCarthy (St Michaels) WJ17 25:40.2 72.4%
Ruth Cummins (GRC) WJ16 25:49.9 71.9%
Meabh O'Brien (GRC) WJ16 26:47.1 69.4%
Cara Cunningham (GRC) WJ17 27:10.3 68.4%
Rebecca McKeown (BBC) WJ18 27:18.6 68.0%
Brooke Edgar (Bann RC) WJ18 27:39.4 67.2%
Published in Rowing
Liam Gorman

About The Author

Liam Gorman

Email The Author

Liam Gorman is a writer and reporter. He is the co-author of Little Lady, One Man, Big Ocean, published in the United States and Canada as Crossing the Swell. He is the rowing correspondent of the Irish Times.  

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating