Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

23 Water Wags Turn Out For 100th Anniversary Trophy Race

4th June 2015
23 Water Wags Turn Out For 100th Anniversary Trophy Race

#waterwags – On 3rd June conditions were ideal for a Water Wag race within the full width of Dun Laoghaire Harbour, with a six–knot easterly breeze and warm Summer conditions. Unfortunately between the five minute gun and the start, the wind disappeared completely for the twenty three Wags racing for the 100th. Anniversary Trophy (division 1A) , and the historic pictures (division 1B and 2).

Some competitors realized that a new wind might come from the north-east and found space of the start line to tack onto port tack, and found a 'Get-out-of-jail-card'. They were Cathy MacAleavey's 'Mollie', Tim Pearson's 'Little Tern', William Prentice's 'Tortoise', Frank Guy's 'Gavotte', and Orla Fitzgerald's 'Eva'. This group found a light breeze which quickly took them away from the bulk of the fleet which was still floundering on the start line. The lead group rounded the first windward mark, and flew their spinnakers on the return to the leeward gate. On the downwind leg a new stronger breeze came in from the east which compacted the fleet; in particular Richard Mossop's 'Polly' was a beneficiary. By the time the fleet had reached the leeward gate for the third time the wind pressure went soft again, allowing 'Tortoise' to put pressure on 'Mollie.' However, the leader managed to defend her position. At the finish the positions were:

1st. Mollie, No. 41, Cathy MacAleavey & Con Murphy (winner division IA)
2nd. Tortoise, No. 42, William & Linda Prentice.
3rd. Little Tern, No. 36, Tim & Marcus Pearson.
4th. Gavotte, No.25, Frank Guy & Owen McNally.
5th. Pansy, No. 3, Vincent Delany & Noelle Breen.
6th. Sara, No.30, Paul & Ann Smith (winner division 1B)
7th. Good Hope, No.18, Hal Sisk & Sue Westrup.
8th. Swift, No.38, Guy Kilroy.
9th. Alfa, No. 12, Michael Donohoe.
10th. Vela, No.4, Brian Bond & Philip Mayne.
11th. Polly, No.31, Richard Mossop, (winner division 2.)
12th. Barbara, No. 8, Ian & Judith Malcolm.
13th. Penelope, No.16, Fergus Cullen & Alice Walsh.
14th. Maureen, No.23, Killian Skay & Liz Croxon.
15th. Scallywag, No.44, Dan O'Connor & David Williams.
16th. Freddie, No.43, David Corcoran & Bairbre Stewart.
17th. Ethna, No. 1, Bill Nolan.
18th. Chloe, No. 34, Kate O'Leary
19th. Sprite, No. 10, Adrian Masterson.
20th. Swallow, No.40, David & Anne Clarke.
21st. Marcia, No. 37, Ben McCormick
22nd. Eros, No. 08, Gail Varian & Gavan.
Retired, Nandor, No. 26, Harry Croxon & Stuart McBean.

Published in Racing
Vincent Delany

About The Author

Vincent Delany

Email The Author

Sailing historian Vincent Delany is a member of the Association of Yachting Historians, and an active sailor in Water Wag, SOD and Squib classes. He has written a thesis on 'Yachting and yachtsmen on the River Shannon 1830-1930.' He has lectured on the history of The Water Wag Club, Royal St.George Yacht Club, and the Killinure Yacht Club, He has written two sailing books 'The Water Wags 1887-2012' and 'The International 12 foot class in Ireland' both of which are available from

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating