Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

X-34 Masters Shifty Conditions on DBSC Race Course

6th May 2012
X-34 Masters Shifty Conditions on DBSC Race Course

#DBSC – In the cruisers one class there was a return to form for the Bay's Championship winning X-yacht design when 10-knot shifty winds from the north–east led to plenty of place changes across 19 classes in Saturday's Dublin Bay Sailing Club race. Colin Byrne's X-34 Xtravagance, the most successful yacht in the 2011 season, won in both IRC and ECHO handicaps. Last week's winner Gringo, a modified A35, skippered by DBSC commodore Tony Fox, was second and John Hall's J109 Something Else third in IRC.

In the one design classes Derek Mitchell's Ruff Nuff beat Diane ll (Andrew Claffey) in the Ruffian class with Ruff N Ready (Ann Kirwan et al) in third.

Full results for the Dublin Bay Sailing Club Results for 5 MAY 2012 are below:

BENETEAU 31.7 Echo- 1. Legally Blonde (C.Drohan/P.Egan), 2. Levante (B.Leyden/M.Leahy), 3. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson)

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Thirty Something (Gerry Jones et al), 2. Levante (B.Leyden/M.Leahy), 3. Prospect (Chris Johnston)

CRUISERS 0 - 1. Loose Change (P Redden & M Mitton), 2. Wow (George Sisk), 3. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell)

CRUISERS 0 Echo - 1. Tsunami (Vincent Farrell), 2. Wow (George Sisk), 3. Lively Lady (Derek Martin)

CRUISERS 1 Echo - 1. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 2. Something Else (J.Hall et al), 3. Gringo (Tony Fox)

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 2. Gringo (Tony Fox), 3. Something Else (J.Hall et al)

CRUISERS 2 Echo - 1. Red Rhum (J Nicholson & C Nicholson), 2. Graduate (D O'Keeffe), 3. Jawesome 11 (M Dyke & B Darcy)

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Red Rhum (J Nicholson & C Nicholson), 2. Jawesome 11 (M Dyke & B Darcy), 3. Peridot (Jim McCann et al)

CRUISERS 3 Echo - 1. Pamafe (Michael Costello), 2. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 3. Cri-Cri (P Colton)

CRUISERS 3 - 1. Supernova (Shannon, Lawless, McCormack), 2. Quest (Jonathan Skerritt), 3. Pamafe (Michael Costello)

DRAGON - 1. Phantom (D.Williams), 2. Susele (Michael Halpenny), 3. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody)

FIREBALL Race 1- 1. Licence to Thrill (Louis Smyth), 2. No Name (McGuire & Chambers)

FIREBALL Race 2- 1. Licence to Thrill (Louis Smyth), 2. No Name (McGuire & Chambers), 3. GBH (M & P Keegan)

FLYING FIFTEEN Race 1- 1. Rollercoaster (Tom Murphy), 2. Fflogger (Alan Dooley), 3. As Good As It Gets (Ross Doyle)

GLEN - 1. Glendun (B.Denham et al), 2. Glencree (J.Bligh/H.Roche), 3. Glencorel (B.Waldock/K.Malcolm)

IDRA 14 FOOT Race 1- 1. Dart (Pierre Long), 2. Dunmoanin (Frank Hamilton), 3. Doody (J.Fitzgerald/J.Byrne)

IDRA 14 FOOT Race 2- 1. Dunmoanin (Frank Hamilton), 2. Dart (Pierre Long), 3. Doody (J.Fitzgerald/J.Byrne)

MERMAID - 1. Kim (D Cassidy)

PY CLASS Race 1- 1. E & R Ryan (RS400), 2. Hugh Sheehy (OK Dinghy), 3. Richard Tate (Laser)

PY CLASS Race 2- 1. Hugh Sheehy (OK Dinghy), 2. E & R Ryan (RS400), 3. Richard Tate (Laser)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Ruff Nuff (D & C Mitchell), 2. Diane ll (Andrew Claffey), 3. Ruff N Ready (Ann Kirwan et al)

SHIPMAN - 1. Curraglas (John Masterson), 2. Invader (Gerard Glynn), 3. Bluefin (B.Finucane et al)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Leeuwin (H&C Leonard & B Kerr), 2. White Mischief (Timothy Goodbody), 3. Moonshine (R.Moloney/D.O'Flynn)

SQUIB - 1. Kookaburra (P & M Dee), 2. Nimble (Brian O'Hare), 3. Anemos (Pete & Ann Evans)

SQUIB - 1. Kookaburra (P & M Dee), 2. Periguin (N Colcough)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS Echo- 1. Zephyr (R Cahill-O'Brien), 2. Windshift (R O'Flynn et al), 3. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer), 2. Act Two (Michael O'Leary et al), 3. Persistence (C. Broadhead et al)

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.