Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Tony Fox's Gringo Takes the DBSC Class One Gun on Dublin Bay

13th June 2021
Paddy Maguire's Gwili II from the Royal St. George Yacht Club was third in the DBSC Sigma 33/Cruisers 2 race
Paddy Maguire's Gwili II from the Royal St. George Yacht Club was third in the Sigma 33/Cruisers 2 race Credit: Afloat

Tony Fox's IMX 38 Gringo from the National Yacht Club beat club mates John and Brian Hall's J109 Something Else in the Cruisers One IRC division of Dublin Bay Sailing Club's Saturday racing.

Racing for classes in Seapoint Bay in the DBSC AIB sponsored Summer Series was subjected to variable westerlies for the opening races before a more solid breeze from 170 degrees came through for the second race.

Jim McCann's Mustang 30 Peridot from the Royal Irish Yacht Club beat two Sigma 33s for the top spot in class two IRC.

In the One Design classes,  DMYC's Enfant de Marie (Ben Mulligan) was the winner of the first race with Phoenix (John Lavery) of the National Yacht Club the second race winner.

The top three results in each DBSC class are below

DBSC Results for 12/06/2021

Race 1

Cruiser 1 IRC: 1. Gringo, 2. Something Else, 3. Chimaera

Cruiser 1 Echo: 1. Gringo, 2. Powder Monkey, 3. Raptor

Cruiser 1 J109: 1. Something Else, 2. Chimaera, 3. Powder Monkey

31.7 One Design: 1. Attitude, 2. Kalamar, 3. Kernach

31.7 Echo: 1. Kalamar, 2. Kernach, 3. Attitude

Cruiser 2 IRC: 1. Peridot, 2. Leeuwin, 3. Rupert

Cruiser 2 Echo: 1. Leeuwin, 2. Rupert, 3. Peridot

Cruiser 2 Sigma 33: 1. Leeuwin, 2. Rupert, 3. Gwili II

Cruiser 3 IRC: 1. Maranda, 2. Starlet

Cruiser 3 Echo: 1. Maranda, 2. Papytoo, 3. Wynward

Cruiser 5 NS-IRC: 1. The Great Escape, 2. Gung Ho, 3. Playtime

Cruiser 5 Echo: 1. Sweet Martini, 2. The Great Escape, 3. Playtime

SB20: 1., 2. Ted, 3. So Blue

Flying 15: 1. Enfant de Marie, 2. Flyer, 3. Phoenix

Sportsboat: 1. Jambiya, 2. Joyride, 3. Jay Z

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jambiya, 2. Joyride, 3. Jawesome III

Shipman: 1. Curraglass, 2. Viking, 3. Jo Slim 5

Glen: 1. Glenroan, 2. GlenDun

PY Class: 1. Brendan Foley, 2. Michael McCambridge

IDRA 14: 1. Dunmoanin, 2. Chaos

Fireball: 1. Owen Sinnott, 2. Paul ter Horst

Race 2

SB20: 1. Ted, 2. Bad/Kilcullen, 3. Rubadubdub

Flying 15: 1. Phoenix, 2. Rodriguez, 3. Fflagella

Sportsboat: 1=. George 6, 1=. Jawesome III, 3. Jambiya

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jawesome III, 2. Jambiya, 3. Joyride

Ruffian: 1. Bandit, 2. Ripples, 3. Ruffles

B211 One Design: 1. Yikes, 2. Chinook, 3. Beeswing

B211 Echo: 1. Beeswing, 2. Ventuno, 3. Chinook

Squib/Mermaid: 1. Lively Lady, 2. Periquin, 3. Allsorts

PY Class: 1. Brendan Foley, 2. Michael McCambridge

IDRA 14: 1. Chaos, 2. Dunmoanin

Fireball: 1. Owen Sinnott, 2. Paul ter Horst

Race 3

PY Class: 1. Brendan Foley, 2. Michael McCambridge

IDRA 14: 1. Chaos, 2. Dunmoanin

Fireball: 1. Owen Sinnott, 2. Paul ter Horst

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.