Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Sailing Photographer Jean-Marie Liot Wins Yacht Racing Image Award

30th November 2016
Mirabaud Racing Image Winner by Jean-Marie Liot Mirabaud Racing Image Winner by Jean-Marie Liot

149 photographers spanning 25 countries participated in the seventh edition of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image. Jean-Marie Liot, from France, won the main award, whilst the delegates from the Yacht Racing Forum and World Sailing's annual conference chose Nico Martinez's photograph for the Yacht Racing Forum award. Christophe Suchet (FRA) won the public award, based on the votes on Facebook. The top 80 pictures can be viewed on the website.

French photographer Jean-Marie Liot (FRA) won the main award thanks to an extraordinary picture of Morgan Lagraviere training ahead of the Vendee Globe onboard his IMOCA Safran, entirely submerged by a wave at high speed.

Based in La Trinite-sur-Mer, in Brittany, Jean-Marie Liot has been working as a professional yacht racing photographer since 1994. His assignments allow him to travel around the world, working for many skippers, sponsors and races and collaborating with the greatest yacht racing magazines.

Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2016 - Top 10:
1. Jean-Marie Liot (FRA)
2. Benoit Stichelbaut (FRA)
3. Mark Lloyd (UK)
4. Guy Nowell (UK)
5. Richard Gladwell (NZL)
6. Claire Matches (UK)
7. Nico Martinez (ESP)
8. Eugenia Bakunova (RUS)
9. Alex Irwin (UK)
10. Tim Thomas (UK)

Yacht Racing Forum award - Top 5:
1. Nico Martinez (ESP)
2. Mark Lloyd (UK)
3. Luis Fernandez (ESP)
4. Pedro Martinez (ESP)
5. Jean-Marie Liot (FRA)

Public award - Top 5:
1. Christophe Huchet (FRA)
2. Ricardo Pinto (POR)
3. Matias Capizzano (ARG)
4. Andras Kollmann (HUN)
5. Joka Gemesi (HUN)

The Jury of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2016:
Andy Hunt (World Sailing CEO, UK)
Keith Taylor (marine writer, editor and marine publicist, NZL)
Antonio Palma (Managing Partner of Mirabaud, SUI)
Anna-Lena Elled (yachting journalist and picture editor, SWE)
Ian Walker (pro sailor, winner of the Volvo Ocean Race, UK)

Published in Marine Photo

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating