Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Cong-Galway Race Rescheduled to August 31st

10th May 2024
Europe’s longest and oldest inland dinghy race takes a 30-nautical mile course from Lisloughrey pier, near Cong at the north end of lough Corrib to Galway city
Europe’s longest and oldest inland dinghy race takes a 30 nautical mile course from Lisloughrey pier, near Cong at the north end of lough Corrib to Galway city

The organisers of the annual Cong-Galway race have decided to change the date to August 31st.

An initial date of June 2nd had been set when registration opened this week.

Europe’s longest and oldest inland dinghy race takes a 30 nautical mile course from Lisloughrey pier, near Cong at the north end of lough Corrib to Galway city.

It follows the old steamer route across the lake, and finishing the course - which involves a number of navigational hazards- is regarded as an achievement in itself.

Last year, 26 entrants in the dinghy class and six in the cruiser class participated in a rescheduled event, which had been postponed from the original date due to weather.

Gary Mangan (ISA) won the dinghy class in a Catapult catamaran, with Rob Talbot and Cian de Bairéad of Cumann Seoltóireachta an Spidéil (CSS) coming second in a 420.

Andy Flanagan and Astrid Plaas of Galway Bay SC were third in a Dart 16, while the Port of Galway Sea Scouts crew, helmed by Daniel Concannon with David Schirliu, Aaron Fahy and Lorcan Carron, took first in the cruiser class.

The collaborative effort has involved five clubs—Galway Bay SC, Galway City Sailing Club, Galway Hooker Sailing Club, Corrib Rowing & Yachting Club and CSS

To register, click here

Published in Cong-Galway Race Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

The Cong-Galway: Ireland’s oldest inland sailing race

The annual Cong – Galway Sailing Race is Europe’s oldest and longest inland water sailing race.

The original Cong-Galway Race started at the Royal Galway Yachting Club in Galway City and travelled to Ashford Castle in Cong before returning to Galway City, a race distance of 61.5 nautical miles.

The 2020 race is the 137th such race. 

The Cong-Galway Race was a huge social event in Galway until 1914. It never recovered after the First World War and was last held in its old format in 1931. The race was later revived in 1972. Now half the original length, the race starts at Lisloughrey pier, near Ashford Castle, and ends just past the Quincentennial Bridge in Galway City.

Cong Galway Race Winner

The winner, which will be determined based on the Portsmouth handicap scheme, will be presented with the CRYC Trophy, a treasured possession of the Corrib Rowing and Yachting Club. 

Cong Galway Race Course

The Cong to Galway Race start is from Lisloughrey Pier in Cong, Co. Mayo and is typically scheduled for 10.30 a.m. on a course through Upper and Lower Lough Corrib to the finish line at Corrib Village on the River Corrib in Galway. The race makes a stop for lunch at Kilbeg Pier, approximately half way, where timings will be taken for the restart.

Cong Galway Race Organisers

Corrib Rowing & Yachting Club, Galway Bay Sailing Club, Galway City Sailing Club and Cumainn Seoltóireacht an Spidéil.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating