Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

29 Enter Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race

5th June 2011
29 Enter Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race

With less than a week to the start of the the Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race 29 boats are entered for the 320-mile classic. 2009 race winner Legally Brunette is entered and there will be a two boat two handed match race. The final race entry list is below.

Name of Boat Sail No. Model IRC TCC Sub DivisionName
SpindriftIRL 1503HR34White CruiserDavid Kelly
DinahIRL 3508JOD 35White1.016Two HandedBarry Hurley
Powder MonkeyIRL 28892J109White1.028RacingChris Moore
Lula BelleIRL 3607Beneteau 36.7White1.019RacingLiam Coyne
OrnaIRL 532Grand Soleil 40CBlue1.043RacingPhilip Dilworth
AquelinaIRL 1281J122White1.088RacingSheila/James Tyrrell
Ocean BlueIRL 1352Pacific Seacraft 40Cream0.936CruiserFrancis Cassidy
Raging BullIRL 9666Sigma 400White RacingMatthew Davis
Emir HerrIRL 1118Beneteau 47.3Blue1.037CruiserLiam Shanahan
Something ElseIRL 29213J109Blue1.028RacingJohn Hall
Premier CruIRL 1152Beneteau 50Blue CruiserAlan Jackson
LisadorIRL 1295Dehler 36White0.959RacingHenry Hogg
JediIRL 8088J109White1.029RacingAndrew Sarratt
Galway HarbourGBR 7386RReflex 38White1.057RacingMartin Breen
Betty BoopIRL 285Puppeteer 330SBlue/White0.911RacingJohn Alvey
Tom Crean BreweryGBR 2750SJ320Light Blue1.008RacingYannick Lemonnier
MojitoGBR 1536LBavaria 39White0.988CruiserPeter Dunlop
Fortuna ReduxGBR 2568LFast 42White RacingSteve Kershaw
YahtzeeIRL 1068Beneteau 411White0.983CruiserRichard Mossop
English MickGBR 4771RBeneteau 47.7Blue RacingCarol Payne
RebellionIRL 6001Nicholson 58Blue1.059CruiserJohn Hughes
TsunamiIRL 4007Beneteau 40.7Grey1.061RacingVincent Farrell
Sailing West IntuitionGBR 9383RReflex 38Blue1.057RacingPaul Adamson
SgrechGBR 9319RJ109White1.021RacingStephen Tudor
Pride of Dalkey-FujiGBR 38Class 40Green1.251RacingAlan McGettigan
SunsariIRL 3201Sunfast 32iWhite0.945Two HandedTom Salter
Legally BrunetteIRL 4053X41White1.122RacingCathal P Doran
PersistanceGBR 8237TSigma 38White/Navy0.985CruiserJerry Collins
Saxon SenatorIRL 1447X37Blue1.039RacingWanfred/Eric Watermam Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Yacht Race Information

The biennial Dun Laoghaire to Dingle race is a 320-miles race down to the east coast of Ireland, across the south coast and into Dingle harbour in County Kerry.

The race is organised by the National Yacht Club.

It never fails to offer a full range of weather, wind and tide to the intrepid entrants, ranging from a 32ft cruiser to a 79ft all-out racer.

Three divisions are available to enter: cruiser (boats equipped with furlers), racing (the bulk of the fleet) and also two-handed.

D2D Course change overruled

In 2019, the organisers considered changing the course to allow boats to select routes close to shore by removing the requirement to go outside Islands and Lighthouses en route, but following input from regular participants, the National Yacht Club decided to stick with the tried and tested course route in order to be fair to large and smaller boats and to keep race records intact.

RORC Points Calendar

The 2019 race was the first edition to form part of the Royal Ocean Racing Club “RORC” calendar for the season. This is in addition to the race continuing as part of the ISORA programme. 

D2D Course record time

Mick Cotter’s 78ft Whisper established the 1 day and 48 minutes course record for the Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race in 2009 and that time stood until 2019 when Cotter returned to beat his own record but only just, the Dun Laoghaire helmsman crossing the line in Kerry to shave just 20 seconds off his 2009 time.

Dun Laoghaire Dingle Race 2021

The 2021 Race will start from the National Yacht Club on Wednesday 9th, June 2021.

This will be a limited entry event.

Previous entrants will be offered early entry options and then the entry will be opened to others to allow up to a maximum of 50 yachts.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating