Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Team Redmond Fisher takes Irish SB3 National Championship

21st September 2009
Team Redmond Fisher takes Irish SB3 National Championship

Peter Kennedy, Dave Cheyne and Stephen Kane from the RUYC have won the Laser Performance/Matthews Centre SB3 Irish National Championship sailed in Crosshaven over the weekend of 18th to 20th of September. Forty-seven boats competed over eight races in a variety of sailing conditions.

Friday started with a light South Easterly breeze and testing conditions for all competitors. Brian Reilly from Sligo got off to a good start with a win in race 1 which was followed by a win in race 2 for young local 420 sailor Rob Lehane who continued to impress throughout the event. With the breeze dying away completely race officer Donal McClement postponed race 3 and finished racing for the day.

Friday started with a light Northerly Breeze for Race 3. The right hand side of the beat favoured with boats approaching the top mark near Trabolgan from the right having a nice lead. Gareth Flannigan sailing McCreedy Sailboats sailed a nice race holding on to take a comfortable win. However following a protest over the starting sequence this race was thrown out.






Above – Peter Kennedy, Dave Cheyne and Stephen Kane, RUYC, winners of the Laser Performance/Matthews Centre SB3 Irish National Championship

Race 4 saw the breeze shifting further to the right and increasing to a nice 10–12 knots. Ben Duncan returning to form took the race win from Brian Reilly. Race 5 and 6 continued in similar conditions with Brian Reilly continuing well taking race 5 from Stefan Hyde/Gerry Dowling.


Competitors were over eager for a number of starts and following a number of general recalls, eight boats were Black Flagged and returned home early. Sean Craig sailed very consistently with no results outside the top ten and took the race win from Gareth Flannigan in race 6.


With the breeze constantly shifting Race Officer Donal McClement did very well to get four races sailed and sailors returned to shore after a long day on the water at 19:00. The overnight lead was held by Peter Kennedy/Dave Cheyne who had a narrow lead from Sean Craig and Gareth Flannigan.


After the long day on the water competitors were rewarded with an excellent meal in the packed yacht club together with the National 18 class and enjoyed live music in the bar until the early hours.


Sunday started with a light Southerly breeze and nice sunshine. The breeze had just filled enough to allow racing commence on time at 12:00. With the right hand side of the beat favouring, Peter Kennedy rounded the top mark in first and was not to be caught taking the race win from Sean Craig to set up for a tight final race with only a few points separating the top three boats.

With the breeze building nicely to 10–12 knots for the final race, competitors were again over eager on a number of occasions and following a number of general recalls 13 boats fell foul of the black flag and headed for an early shower and crane out. Among those caught was Peter Kennedy who had to return to shore in the knowledge that a good result for either Sean Craig or Gareth Flannigan would deny them the title.

The race was won by Emma McDonald from Darragh Sheridan in second, both from HYC. However, with Sean Craig having his worst result and Gareth Flannigan managing a 12th the title went to Peter Kennedy/Dave Cheyne with Sean Craig a few points behind in second and Ben Duncan and the Sharkbait team from HYC snatching third from Gareth Flannigan.

Laura Dillon sailing narrowly beat Emma Mcdonald for first Lady helm with the 2 HYC boats finishing in 6th and 7th. The Silver fleet trophy was won by Daragh Sheridan sailing Dinghy Supplies with Rob Cahill taking the Bronze fleet trophy.

The winners received excellent prizes courtesy of Laser Performance and the Matthews Centre with Peter Kennedy/Dave Cheyne winning a new jib for first overall.

Published in Racing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Webcams

webcam sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating