Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Clean Sweep For Liam Glynn at CH Marine Laser Ulster Championship

30th April 2018
Winners at the CH Marine Ulster Laser Championships at Ballyholme Yacht Club Winners at the CH Marine Ulster Laser Championships at Ballyholme Yacht Club

Ballyholme's Olympic trialist Liam Glynn won the CH Marine Ulster Laser Championship title last weekend on Belfast Lough counting five race wins.

Royal St George Yacht Club sailors did the double by securing the 4.7 and Radial titles. The Radial winner was Henry Higgins with the 4.7’s won by newcomer to the class, Moss Simington.

A large number of laser sailors from around the country headed northwards last Friday night to compete in the Championships.

The regatta was hosted this year by Ballyholme Yacht Club and entries were significantly increased given it was the last qualifying event for Irish masters who wished to get on the ranking ladders. Ninety seven competitors were ready to race early on Saturday morning.

"The regatta was hosted this year by Ballyholme Yacht Club and entries were significantly increased given it was the last qualifying event for Irish Masters"

The fleets launched in 8 -10 knots of breeze on Saturday with PRO Robin Gray and his team completing 3 races for all fleets after a long day on the water. Alana Coakley, Henry Higgins and Liam Glynn led the 4.7, radial and standard fleets respectively.

Sunday morning the sailors were greeted with glorious sunshine and a breeze of 6-10 knots. Another 3 races were secured for all fleets completing a full series. This weekend gave great light weather practice for our international event sailors travelling away this Summer.

There was a change in the 4.7 fleet overnight standings with newcomer Moss Simington - Royal St George YC scoring a 3, 1 and 2 on Sunday to take the 4.7 title by one point. Atlee Kohl - Royal Cork YC had to be happy with 2nd after his recent wins at the Munsters and Youth Nationals. Alana Coakley - RStGYC/RVYC was third and First Lady.

After the successful introduction of the Silver Fleet at the recent Munster Championships, the 4.7 silver fleet prizes went to - 1st Joseph Karauzum County Antrim YC, 2nd Jennifer O'Shaughnessy Royal Cork YC and 3rd Jamie McDonnell Lettice Royal Cork YC.

Henry Higgins of the Royal St George YC retained his overnight lead and took the Radial Title. Chris Bateman of the Royal Cork revelled in the conditions on Sunday with two bullets and secured 2nd ahead of Jack Fahy - RStGYC/RCYC/LDYC 3rd. The first Radial Master was local sailor and former Olympian Chris Boyd.

The Radial Silver Fleet prizes were awarded as follows - 1st Howard Massie Ballyholme YC, 2nd Ella Hemeryck NYC/HYC and 3rd Russell Finlay Ballyholme YC.

Liam Glynn’s performance in home waters was superb with five bullets counting to win the Standard Fleet. Fionn Conway from Killaloe/NYC who was competing in his first standard event, was second overall and David Quinn - Howth YC third overall and first master. This podium finish for Dave Quinn was a great reward for a lot of hard work over the winter months as he has returned to the fleet after a 20 year absence. Also notable in the standard fleet was that 26 of the 29 competing were Masters with another 11 racing in the Radial Fleet.

This was a great event to see ahead of the Lennon Racewear Irish Laser Master Nationals in Dun Laoghaire on the 19th and 20th May. Online entry is now open here. This will be a great opportunity for sailors to experience racing in Dublin Bay ahead of the Master Worlds in September. Event Organiser Sean Craig advises that a number of international sailors are travelling to compete in May.

Full Ulster Championship results can be found here

Published in Laser Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

At A Glance – Laser Dinghy Specifications

Designer Bruce Kirby & Ian Bruce

Year 1969

Crew 1
Draft 0.787 m (2 ft 7.0 in)
Hull weight 58.97 kg (130.0 lb)
LOA 4.2 m (13 ft 9 in)
LWL 3.81 m (12 ft 6 in)
Beam 1.39 m (4 ft 7 in)
Mainsail area 7.06 m2 (76.0 sq ft)

Racing D-PN 91.1 RYA PN 1088 PHRF 217

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating