Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Sharkbait Wins SB3 National Championship (Full Results Here)

19th September 2011
Sharkbait Wins SB3 National Championship (Full Results Here)
After six races sailed and against a fleet of 39 SB3 sportsboats there was little surprise that champions 'Sharkbait' sailed by Ben Duncan, Brian Moran and Ric Morris were the winners of the National Championships sailed at the Royal Irish Yacht Club at the weekend. The Howth trio beat Belfast's Peter Kennedy, David Cheyne and Stephen Kane by a single point for overall honours. Third was royal Cork's Mel Collins, Killian Collins and Donal Hegarty. Full results below.
BoatHelmCrew 1CrewClub PointsPlace
SharkbaitBen DuncanBrian MoranRic MorrisHowth Yacht Club 131
RidgefencePeter KennedyDavid CheyneStephen KaneRNIYC 142
SibelusMel CollinsKilliian CollinsDonal HegartyRCYC 213
Toucan 3Ross VaughanAndrew VaughanBen LynchRNIYC 234
Gill Race TeamGareth FlanniganJeremy TomalinBrian SpenceBallyhome YC 235
FlutterAndrew AlgeoGary HaughtonRichard KnatchbullRSGYC 306
BomchickawahwahJohn O'DriscollJoe O'ReillyOwen LavertyRSGYC 437
Hutton'sBen WilliamsonNick WrightMike WrightWest Riding SC 508
Milvus MilvusRobert HoweDan O'ConnellJoanne SheehyRoyal Cork 509
ShockwaveMichael EvansEoin QuinlanPeter FreyneHowth Yacht Club 5110
DefiantColin GalavanAlan McGettiganGer WalshRIYC 5211
Dinghy SuppliesDaragh SheridanShane MurphyJohn PhelanHowth Yacht Club 6612
OdinJames GormanNeil O'TooleTed LavertyNYC 7113
Jumpin Jack FlashGeoff O'DonoghueJonathan FoleyMichael McCarveyLDYC 7114
MonkeyGraham ElmesAidan O'ConnellMarty O'LearyRSGYC 7315
Alert PackagingJustin BurkeRonan HaugheyAlistair KissaneNational Yacht Club 7416
Soda BreadDarren MartinSimon MurrayRodger PannellSLYC 7617
Splash GordonGordan PattersonRoss NolanColm JonesRNI Yacht Club 7818
SinabhuiflGillian GuinnessColm CostiganMark WheelerHowth Yacht Club 9719
Quantitable EasingPaul McMahonPaul Devlin Davie CollKYC 9720
MephistoRonan DowningDavid SweeneyCatriona O'ReillyKYC 9721
Le Bateau de Bang BangGuy O LearyConor RocheChris AndrewsRIYC 10222
Mr BumpDavid TaylorSteve FerresConor BrennanCarrickfergus SC 10423
Venuesworld.comGer DempseyChris NolanCraig MatthewsRIYC 10724
Sacre BleuDoug SmithAdam WinkelmannBreffni JonesRIYC 11325
Sandy BottomGordon JudgeDavid StewartPatrick O'ReillyRSGYC 11326
Kicker OffSelina DickerMichael DonollyEd CookRSGYC 11427
Bad KilcullenStefan HydeJerry DowlingPaul BakerRIYC 11928
Smoke on the WaterBob HobbyGlenn FisherTed ByrneGISC 12029
InvestwiseGarrett MayJim FreyneBevan RitchieHowth Yacht Club 13030
RubadubdubNick DohertyRobert GavinDavid HammondNYC 13631
ProbablyIan SimingtonRory ByrneBilly RiordanRSGYC 13932
Sunday BrunchDavid DwyerJonathan CarrollRichard TateRSGYC 14433
Seriously Bonkers x 3Marty CuppagePeter LeeMichael GalvinRSGYC 15134
Bumble BFionnuala LoughreyKaty KellyCathy BoothNational Yacht Club 15135
MonkeyKeith CassidyMichael McCormackMurrough KavanaghHowth Yacht Club 16036
White NoiseStephen MontgomeryEdward DoyleDonal HegartyRSGYC 16437
2fryedeggsLiam ShanahanBen ShanahanWill ShanahanNYC 17138
No NameDomhall MacAuley  Carrickfergus SC 18439
Published in SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

SB20 (formerly Laser SB3) information

Designed by Tony Castro, the SB20 is a British-built strict one-design 6.15m keelboat conceived as a wide appeal, affordable, competitive sportsboat for teams of three or four sailors. It is also, arguably, the most successful sportsboat in the world with 800 owners competing regularly in a programme of exciting local, national and international events.

Originally known as the Laser SB3, the SB20 continues to deliver on its pioneering promise: a boat that is fun, fast and easy to sail by anyone of any age; the best value-for-money sportsboat in the market.

The Laser SB3 was designed by Castro and launched in 2002. In 2007 the Laser SB3 was awarded ISAF Recognised Status and the first World Championships were held in Ireland in 2008. In 2012, Tony Castro appointed a new builder, Sportsboat World. At this time, the Laser SB3 was renamed the SB20 and building was returned to the UK from Malaysia. The ethos of the class continues.

The boat is a strict one-design class, economic to buy and campaign, easy to sail with a simple deck layout and electric downwind performance delivered by the generous sail plan. The boat has a lifting keel, can easily be launched from a slipway and towed behind a family car.

Previous SB20 World Champions

2008 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Roger Gilbert, Roz Allen & Sarah Allan

Host National Yacht Club, Dun laoghaire, Ireland

2009 GBR: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heeley

Host Clube Naval de Cascais, Cascais, Portugal

2010 GBR: Jerry Hill, Grant Rollerson, Joe Llewellyn

Host Circolo Vela Torbole, Lake Garda, Italy

2011 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Andy Ramus, Ian Mills & Emma Clarke

Host Royal Torbay Yacht Club, Torquay, UK

2012 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Lesley Dhonau, Roger Hudson & Asenathi Jim

Host Hamilton Island Yacht Club, Queensland, Australia

2013 GRB: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heley Host COYCH Club, Hyeres, France

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton dob
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Wave button for Afloat new dates

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

quantum sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating