Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dublin Bay Win is No Xtravagance for Byrne

30th April 2011
Dublin Bay Win is No Xtravagance for Byrne

Colin Byrne sailing Xtravagance won in both IRC and ECHO handicap divisions in this afternoon's first Dublin Bay Sailing Club Saturday race of 2011. The Royal Irish Yacht Club entry beat the Commodore's yacht Gringo (Tony Fox) for the top slot in Class One in an afternoon that blew away the winter cobwebs.

Today's 15 knot Easterly breeze was the perfect antidote to the disappointment of the abandonment of the first race last Thursday due to lack of wind.

In other fleets, Keith Kiernan's Cor Baby won class 2 and the Sonata Jammie Dodger (Dermot O'Neill) won class three, currently the Bay's biggest cruiser class with over 30 entries.

On the one design courses Joe Coughlan's Ash beat Frank Burgess's Snow White in the first race of the Flying Fifteen's, a result that was reversed in the second race.

DUBLIN PORT Dublin Bay Sailing Club Results for 30 APRIL 2011

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 2. Gringo (Tony Fox), 3. Something Else (J.Hall et al)

CRUISERS 1 - ECHO 1. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 2. Gringo (Tony Fox), 3. Adrenalin (Joe McDonald)

CRUISERS 2 - ECHO 1. Cor Baby (Keith Kiernan et al), 2. Kamikaze (P.Nash/B.McIntyre), 3. Peridot (Jim McCann et al)

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Cor Baby (Keith Kiernan et al), 2. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 3. Jawesome 11 (V.Kennedy/M.Dyke)

CRUISERS 3 - 1. Jammie Dodger (J.H & D.O'Neill), 2. Carrabeg (D.Martin/R.Deasy), 3. Supernova (K.Lawless et al)

CRUISERS 4 - 1. Ghrazel (Charles Pearson)

BENETEAU 31.7 - , 3. Thirty Something (Gerry Jones et al)

BENETEAU 31.7 ˆ ECHO 1. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 2. Thirty Something (Gerry Jones et al), 3. Kernach (Eoin O'Driscoll)

FLYING FIFTEEN ˆ RACE 2 1. Ash (Joseph Coughlan), 2. Snow White (Frank Burgess)

FLYING FIFTEEN - 1. Snow White (Frank Burgess), 2. Ash (Joseph Coughlan), 3. PFO (Valerie Mulvin)

MERMAID - 1. Jill (P.Smith/P.Mangan), 2. Lively Lady (G O'Neill & M Hanney)

PY CLASS - 1. P Keane (Laser 1), 2. Sean Flanagan (Laser)

PY CLASS - RACE 2 1. Sean Flanagan (Laser), 2. P Keane (Laser 1), 3. Desmond McCarthy (Laser 1)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Diane ll (Bruce Carswell), 2. Cresendo (L Balfe), 3. Alias (D.Meeke/M.McCarthy)

SHIPMAN - 1. Gusto (C Heath), 2. Whiterock (Henry Robinson)

SIGMA 33 - 1. Popje (Ted McCourt), 2. Pippa lV (G.Kinsman/K.Blake/M.O'Brien)

SQUIB - 1. Kookaburra (P & M Dee), 2. Anemos (Pete & Ann Evans), 3. Little Demon (Marie Dee)

SQUIB - RACE 2 1. Kookaburra (P & M Dee), 2. Little Demon (Marie Dee), 3. Tais (Michael O'Connell)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS ˆ ECHO 1. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer), 2. Calypso (Howard Knott)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Arwen (Philip O'Dwyer), 2. Calypso (Howard Knott)

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating