Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Supernova Does the Double on Dublin Bay

1st July 2011
Supernova Does the Double on Dublin Bay

Ken Lawless's Supernova was a double winner in last night's Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) race, a result that sets up the Dubois Starflash design as a favourite in the biggest fleet of next week's Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta at the same venue. Our Dublin Bay Correspondent Reports.

On IRC handicap Huggy Bear (S.Doyle/G.Byrne) was second to Supernova and third was the Bolero 26, Two Step (Ross Doyle). On ECHO, Huggy Bear took second too but third went to the club's only Jezequel 116 design, Cri-Cri skippered by Paul Colton.

DBSC are celebrating the success of course changes introduced this year that have received widespread approval across the 17 fleets. The new courses are producing tight racing, a situation very much in evidence last night across the bay but particularly noticeable in the one design classes. Good turnouts from the Ruffian's, Fifteens and SB3s were treated to good courses and some of the closest racing of the season.

Royal St. George crews fared well with Derek Mitchell coming out on top in a 19-boat Ruffian fleet and Andrew Algeo at the helm of Flutter the SB3 winner. Tom Leonard's Mellifluence from the National Yacht Club was the winner of the 16-Flying fifteens. The full results are below:

BENETEAU 31.7 - 1. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson), 2. Levana (Jean Mitton), 3. Prospect (Chris Johnston)

BENETEAU 31.7 Echo- 1. Extreme Reality (P.McSwiney/E.O'Rafferty), 2. Attitude (D.Owens/T.Milner), 3. Bluefin Two (M & B Bryson)

CRUISERS 1 Echo - 1. Adrenalin (Joe McDonald), 2. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 3. Axiom (M.O'Neill)

CRUISERS 1 - 1. Xtravagance (Colin Byrne), 2. Joker 11 (John Maybury), 3. Something Else (J.Hall et al)

CRUISERS 2 - 1. Jawesome 11 (V.Kennedy/M.Dyke), 2. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 3. Bendemeer (Lindsay Casey Power)

CRUISERS 2 Echo - 1. Red Rhum (J Nicholson), 2. Jawesome 11 (V.Kennedy/M.Dyke), 3. Peridot (Jim McCann et al)

CRUISERS 3 Echo - 1. Supernova (K.Lawless et al), 2. Huggy Bear (S.Doyle/G.Byrne), 3. Cri-Cri (P Colton)

CRUISERS 3 - 1. Supernova (K.Lawless et al), 2. Huggy Bear (S.Doyle/G.Byrne), 3. Two Step (Ross Doyle)

DRAGON - 1. Susele (Michael Halpenny), 2. Diva (R.Johnson/R.Goodbody), 3. Phantom (D.Williams/P.Bowring)

FLYING FIFTEEN - 1. Mellifluence (Tom Leonard), 2. Snow White (Frank Burgess), 3. Fflogger (Alan Dooley)

GLEN - 1. Glenmarissa (F.Elmes/W.Higgins), 2. Pterodactyl (R & D McCaffrey), 3. Glenroan (Terence Moran)

RUFFIAN 23 - 1. Ruff Nuff (D & C Mitchell), 2. Diane ll (Bruce Carswell), 3. Ruff N Ready (Ann Kirwan et al)

SB3s - 1. Flutter (Andrew Algeo), 2. Defiant (R.Hudson/J.Hooper), 3. Alert Packaging (Justin Burke)

SHIPMAN - 1. Curraglas (John Masterson), 2. Therapi (Alan McCarthy et al), 3. Malindi (B.Smith/A.Gray)

SIGMA 33 - 1. White Mischief (Timothy Goodbody), 2. Gwili Two (D.Clarke/P.Maguire), 3. Pippa lV (G.Kinsman/K.Blake/M.O'Brien)

SQUIB - 1. Little Bird (N Barnwell), 2. Anemos (Pete & Ann Evans), 3. Chillax (Mary McLoughlin)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS Echo - 1. Katie (Tom Dunne et al), 2. Nirvana (Bernard Neeson), 3. Edenpark (Liam Farmer)

WHITE SAIL CRUISERS - 1. Persistence (C. Broadhead et al), 2. Act Two (Michael O'Leary et al), 3. Calypso (Howard Knott)

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.