Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

J109 'Something Else' is DBSC Saturday Race Winner

5th May 2024
In a three-boat, Dublin Bay 21 race Estelle won from Geraldine with Garavogue (pictured) third in Saturday's DBSC AIB Summer Series on the Bay
In a three-boat, Dublin Bay 21 race Estelle won from Geraldine with Garavogue (pictured) third in Saturday's DBSC AIB Summer Series on the Bay Credit: Afloat

Dublin Bay Sailing Club's second AIB Saturday race of the 2024 season was sailed on May 4th in medium westerly winds on an overcast Dublin Bay.

Sean Lemass's First 40 Prima Forte won from Chris Power Smith's J122 Aurelia in IRC Zero in a one-and-a-half-hour race.

In a six-boat turnout, J109s took the top three places in IRC One with Brian Hall's National Yacht Club (NYC) Something Else taking the gun in a one-and-a-half-hour race by a winning margin of one minute on corrected time. 

Tim Goodbody's White Mischief finished in 1 hour 29 minutes and 43 seconds to take second place. Barry Cunningham's J109 Chimaera, both of the Royal Irish Yacht Club was thirty seconds further back in third place.

Overall, the Goodbody's lead Brian Hall from Barry Cunningham. The Race Officer was Barry MacNeaney. 

In Cruisers Two IRC, Lindsay Casey's  Royal St. George J97 Windjammer topped a three-boat turnout with Jim McCann's Royal Irish Mustang 30 Peridot in second. Third was the Sigma 33 Moonshine skippered by David O'Flynn of the Royal St. George.

In a two-boat IRC Three race, Edward Melvin's Sonata One Design, Ceol na Mara of the National Yacht Club beat Myles Kelly's Senator 22 of the DMYC by almost two minutes on corrected time.

In Class 5a (White Sails), Tim Costello's Bavaria 35 Just Jasmin was the ECHO handicap winner from Charles Broadhead's Sigma 38, Persistence. Third was Peter Richarson's Dehler 36 Deliverance.

In the one-design fleets, under Race Officer Jim Dolan, Estelle won from Geraldine in a three-boat Dublin Bay 21 race. The restored vintage fleet recently announced its 2024 racing programme in a new class website.

Overall leader, NYC's David Gorman, was second in the first race but won the second in the 14-boat Flying Fifteen races under Race Officer Declan Traynor.

In the seven-boat B211s scratch division, Joe Smyth's Yikes won from Jacqueline McStay's Small Wonder from the Royal Irish Yacht Club. Third was Pat Shannon's B211 Beeswing.

Results in all classes are detailed below.

Summer racing continues on Dublin Bay next Tuesday.

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.