Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Phillips's Elan 333 'Playtime' is Cruiser 5A Saturday Winner

11th May 2024
Johnnie Phillips' Elan 333 Playtime (National YC) won DBSC's non-spinnaker Cruisers 5a Saturday race
Johnnie Phillips' Elan 333 Playtime (National YC) won DBSC's non-spinnaker Cruisers 5a Saturday race Credit: Afloat

Dublin Bay Sailing Club's third AIB Saturday race of the 2024 season was sailed on May 11th in light to medium south-easterly winds on a hazy Dublin Bay.

No results were posted in IRC Zero, as the first ISORA Cross-channel race of the season took a number of regular boats away from the bay in the race to Pwhelli in North Wales.

In a nine-boat turnout, J109s took the top two places in IRC One with Richard and Tim Goodbody's White Mischief of the Royal Irish Yacht Club finished in 1 hour 28 minutes and 03 seconds from Brian Hall's National Yacht Club (NYC) Something Else just 16 seconds behind on corrected time.

Colin Byrne's XP33 Bon Exemple, of the Royal Irish Yacht Club, was 11 seconds further back in third place.

Overall, the Goodbodys lead Hall in the Saturday Series by two points.

In Cruisers Two IRC, the Sigma 33 Moonshine skippered by David O'Flynn of the Royal St. George was the winner from clubmate Lindsay Casey's J97 Windjammer. Third in the five-boat turnout was Jim McCann's Royal Irish Mustang 30 Peridot. 

In a two-boat IRC Three race, Edward Melvin's Sonata One Design, Ceol na Mara of the National Yacht Club beat Myles Kelly's Senator 22 Maranda of the DMYC by 33 seconds on corrected time.

In Class 5a (White Sails), Johnnie Phillips's Elan 333 Playtime won the ECHO handicap race from Colin O'Brien's Jeanneau 39DS, Spirit. Third was Peter Richardson's Dehler 36 Deliverance.

In the one-design fleets, under Race Officer Jim Dolan, Garavogue won from Geraldine in a three-boat Dublin Bay 21 race. 

Overall leader, NYC's David Gorman, was second in the first race and third in the 18-boat Flying Fifteen races to be on nine points and Ken Dumpleton in second on 20. Third overall is Neil Colin on 23.

In a three-boat scratch race for the Beneteau 31.7s, Christ Johnston's Prospect won from Brian Geraghty's Camira.  Michael & Bernie Bryson's Bluefin Two retired.

In the seven-boat B211s scratch division, Jimmy Fischer's Billy Whizz beat overall leader Joe Smyth's Yikes. Third was DBSC Vice-Commodore Jacqueline McStay in Small Wonder from the Royal Irish Yacht Club. 

Results in all classes are detailed below.

Summer racing continues on Dublin Bay next Tuesday.

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.