Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

dbsc maintopper

Correspondence to: Chris Moore, Hon. Secretary

087-762-6976 - [email protected] - Visit Website

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) News & Results
Vincent Farrell's Tsunami from the National Yacht Club was the final race DBSC Cruisers Zero winner on IRC and ECHO
A race win for Vincent Farrell's First 40.7 Tsunami (on IRC and ECHO handicaps) in the last Thursday race of the Dublin Bay Sailing Club AIB summer season also gave the National Yacht Club crew overall ECHO victory in the Cruisers Zero…
The Dublin Bay 21 Footers competing in the second last DBSC Tuesday Series race
The Dublin Bay 21 Footer Naneen was the winner of the penultimate DBSC Tuesday keelboat race of the 2021 season. Second of the recently restored three boat fleet was Estelle with Garavogue third. 66 boats enjoyed a light breeze on a…
The National Yacht Club Ruffian 23 Bandit crew skippered by Ann Kirwan
The Ruffian 23 Bandit was the winner of Saturday's DBSC class race on Dublin Bay today.  The National Champion Bandit skippered by Ann Kirwan of the National Yacht Club was first home ahead of Michael Cutliffe's Ruffles and David Meeke…
Two Commodores – Jonathan Nicholson (DBSC Commodore 2018-2020) and Ann Kirwan (DBSC Commodore 2020-2022) at this week's presentation of the Mitsubishi Motors
Dublin Bay Sailing Club is the current Mitsubishi Motors Sailing Club of the Year, and yesterday (Friday), their Commodore Ann Kirwan took over custodianship of the well-travelled ship's wheel trophy. It dates back to 1979 in a unique and informal…
Cruiser 1 IRC and J/109 entry White Mischief (Tim and Richard Goodbody) is one of 12 class leaders that cannot be caught in the overall Thursday DBSC AIB Summer Series
124 Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) boats enjoyed a light breeze on the bay for the penultimate Thursday evening race of the AIB sponsored Summer Series. There was a full turnout in the Beneteau 31.7 and Ruffian 23 classes. Racing was…
DBSC Laser sailor Ross O'Leary
Ross O'Leary was the winner of Tuesday's DBSC Laser Standard race ahead of this week's Laser National Championships at Royal Cork Yacht Club. In a 12,3 for the Royal St. George Yacht Club, Owen Laverty was second with Gary O'Hare…
David Mulvin and Ronan Beirne of the National Yacht Club were race winners in one of Saturday's DBSC Flying Fifteen races
A week before the Dun Laoghaire Flying 15 fleet heads north to Strangford Lough for its national championships, Ignis Caput II (David Mulvin and Ronan Beirne) and Phoenix (John Lavery and Alan Green), both of the National Yacht Club, shared…
While the thirty-one countries of the ILCA 4.7 fleet were completing the final race of their Youth World Championship in Dublin Bay, there was another close competition taking place in the bay under Barry O'Neill as P.R.O. This was under…
Myles Kelly's Maranda from the DMYC was second in IRC 3 of DBSC's Thursday race
Patrick Burke's First 40 Prima Forte had a win IRC and ECHO in Cruiser Zero in Dublin Bay Sailing Club's (DBSC) Thursday night race.  117 boats in all DBSC classes enjoyed a good breeze on the bay for the race…
Noel Butler sailing his RS Aero dinghy
RS Aero sailor Noel Butler of the National Yacht Club was the winner of tonight's light air DBSC PY Class race on Dublin Bay. Royal St. George's Brendan Foley finished second with Butler's clubmate Stephen Oram was third. Results summary below DBSC…
All 22 classes of Dublin Bay Sailing Club's (DBSC) Saturday racing schedule were cancelled this afternoon due to strong westerly winds.  The termination follows an abandonment of DBSC racing last Thursday for all except five classes due to light winds…
DBSC Committtee Boat MacLir
Dublin Bay Sailing Club Thursday night racing was curtailed tonight even though the prospect of racing looked promising all day on Dublin Bay.  Despite the fact there were 20 knots of breeze from the south at 4.30 pm, only five…
Competing in the first DBSC Dublin Bay Twenty Footer Race of 2021 at the National Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire Harbour were from  (L to R) front row: Winifred McCourt. Fionán de Barra. Dean McElree. (Back row) Article author Ronan Beirne, Alastair Rumball, Hal Sisk, Tim Pearson, Jim Foley and Michael Rothschild
Former National Yacht Club Commodore Ronan Beirne, who welcomed three restored Dublin Bay 21s back to Dun Laoghaire Harbour last Friday, accepted an invitation to join a DB21 crew for the first DBSC race in 35 years last Tuesday evening.…
DBSC is supporting and encouraging its members to participate in September's National Championships by not holding its regular Saturday racing for Cruiser Classes on September 4th
Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is not holding racing for cruiser-racer classes 1 – 5 on Saturday, 4th September in order to accommodate the Irish Cruiser Racer Association (ICRA) National Championships that are being staged on Dublin Bay.  The annual…
Niall Coleman (centre) and Susan Halpenny were the winners of the Flying Fifteen's 2021 Facet Trophy presented by Facet Jeweller Pat Shannon (left)
The Facet Trophy for Flying Fifteens on Dublin Bay is unique in that it is the only event within the DBSC Flying Fifteen Series where the trophy is presented on the day of the racing. This is due to the…
Rodney and Keith Martin's Beneteau 44.7 Lively Lady from the Royal Irish Yach Club
Rodney and Keith Martin's Beneteau 44.7 Lively Lady from the Royal Irish Yach Club was the winner of Saturday's light wind DBSC race on Dublin Bay for Cruisers Zero on both IRC and ECHO handicaps. The top three was a…

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating