Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

dbsc maintopper

Correspondence to: Chris Moore, Hon. Secretary

087-762-6976 - [email protected] - Visit Website

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) News & Results
Home again. After an absence of 35 years - and all of 116 years after she first sailed here - the restored Dublin Bay 21 Naneen sails past Dun Laoghaire's East Pier lighthouse with a 21-gun salute
There's something about the way that Steve Morris and his boat-building team in Kilrush are restoring the 1903-vintage Dublin Bay 21s that speaks to people with only a vague notion of the sea and sailing. The class association circled around…
At the heart of the harbour for 83 years - a Dublin Bay 21 under the original gaff rig, which was used from 1903 until 1964. The class then sailed under Bemuda rig until 1986, and will resume Dublin Bay activities in 2021 with reversion to a modified gaff rig
The Dublin Bay 21 Footers are the oldest class of racing yachts of their kind in the world - the World’s Oldest Cruiser Racer Class. Designed in 1902 by the leading yacht designer, Alfred Mylne of Glasgow, for Dublin Bay…
Barry Glavin and Niall O’Riordan's SB20 Sea Biscuit was a race winner in Saturday's DBSC racing
Barry Glavin and Niall O’Riordan's Sea Biscuit from the Royal St George Yacht Club was the winner of the first race of Saturday's Dublin Bay Sailing Club SB20 fixture. 113 boats across all the DBSC classes enjoyed a moderate ENE wind…
DBSC Commodore Ann Kirwan at the Royal St. George Yacht Club on July 16th 2021 pictured with DBSC Cruisers Two 2020 winners, Lindsay Casey and Denis Power with DBSC's Premier Trophy, The Waterhouse Shield. The RSTGYC J/97 crew also won the Lady Shamrock Trophy for Thursdays, the Silver Salver for Saturday IRC Racing and the TP Early trophy for Sat Echo racing. They are pictured with (second from left) DBSC sponsor Jim Connolly of AIB 
Last year, for one of the first times in a proud history stretching back to 1884, there was no gala event for Dublin Bay Sailing Club's annual prizegiving but as most Dun Laoghaire Harbour observers will attest, most of the sailors in the…
RS Aero sailor Brendan Foley of the Royal St. George Yacht Club
RS Aero sailor Brendan Foley of the Royal St. George Yacht Club was the winner of both light air Portsmouth Yardstick DBSC dinghy races at Dun Laoghaire Harbour. In both races, Foley beat the National Yacht Club's Noel Butler, who,…
Patrick Burke's First 40 Prima Forte of the Royal Irish Yacht Club
Patrick Burke's First 40 Prima Forte of the Royal Irish Yacht Club was the IRC winner of Dubin Bay Sailing Club's Cruiser 0 AIB Summer Series Saturday race.   Second and third on IRC were the First 40.7 sisterships Tsunami (Vincent Farrell)…
Myles Kelly's Senator 'Maranda' from the DMYC
Myles Kelly's Senator 'Maranda' from the DMYC was the winner of DBSC's Thursday night Cruiser 3 IRC race on Dublin Bay. Kevin Byrne's Starlet of the Royal St. George Yacht Club was second with Krypton third.  DBSC had another large…
Plan B was third in DBSC's B211 One Design Tuesday race
National Yacht Club RS Aero sailor Noel Butler was the winner of Tuesday night's PY class dinghy race. RS Aero sailors also took second an third places with Royal St. George's Brendan Foley second followed by Sarah Dwyer.  Isolde was…
A start of the DBSC Laser class on Scotsman's Bay
Former Dublin Bay Sailing Club Class Captain Gavan Murphy took a first and two second places in Saturday's three DBSC Laser races. Racing for the dinghy classes was held in Scotsman's Bay in an eight to ten-knot warm southerly breeze. There…
Was your journey really necessary?
It has been said here before, but it's worth saying again – on Thursday evenings in normal times in summer, the Dublin Bay Sailing Club programme is so popular that the fleet out racing would be considered a splendid turnout…
Chris Johnston's Prospect was the scratch winner of the 31.7 DBSC race
A massive total of 140 boats raced on Dublin Bay tonight in a light south-easterly tonight, by far the largest Thursday evening DBSC turnout for many years. The Cruisers Zero IRC race was won by Paul O'Higgins in the JPK…
Dublin Bay Sailing Club 2021 Yearbook
Dublin Bay Sailing Club’s 2021 Yearbook is now available from the DBSC website. Read online or get the free PDF download HERE.
Flying Fifteen racing on Dublin Bay
Misty thriller on Dublin Bay!"Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness,Close bosom-friend of the maturing sun,Conspiring with him how to load and bless, with fruitThe vines that round the thatched eaves run."From: John Keats "Ode to Autumn" One would not imagine…
Chris Johnston's Prospect was the winner of the 31.7 one-design race
In anticipation of a weekend of one design action on the Bay, there was a full turnout of 10 boats in the Beneteau 31.7 Class ahead of the class national championships for Thursday's Dublin Bay Sailing Club race. Chris Johnston's Prospect from…
Sean Craig at Laser racing – he puts even more into sailing than he takes from it
Laser ace Sean Craig has been on top form in June. In addition to his usual input into racing and sailing administration, he's in the frame in both the two Laser local weekly series currently being staged by DBSC. Meanwhile…
Beneteau 211 racing on Dublin Bay
On the eve of the Beneteau 211 One Design national championships at the Royal Irish Yacht Club at Dun Laoghaire this weekend, Billy Whizz (James Conboy Fischer) was the winner of Tuesday night's DBSC race. Second was Pat Shannon's Beeswing and third…

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating