Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing


Champions Crowned as Royal Cork Lays On Super Cork Harbour Dinghy Fest

2nd July 2017
Alex Barry and Richard Leonard were RS400 winners at RCYC Dinghy Fest Alex Barry and Richard Leonard were RS400 winners at RCYC Dinghy Fest Photo: Bob Bateman

Alex Barry and Richard Leonard successfully defended their RS400 Southern Championship crown this afternoon at Royal Cork Yacht Club. The dinghy duo were just one of many winners at the second edition of the multi–dinghy championships in Cork Harbour that attracted over 100 boats.

The three day event produced some very tight racing in spectacular conditions for the centreboard classes as illustrated in Bob Bateman's RCYC Dinghy Fest Galleries on Day One, Day two and Day three (including prizegiving)

As reported in our Dinghy Fest preview, also running as part of the weekend was the RS 200 Euro Cup & Irish National Championships, the National 18 National Championships, the RS Feva and RS 400 Southern Championships plus a PY fleet an Optimist fun Fleet and a demo Moth fleet.

Barry and Leonard beat Belfast Lough's Gareth Flannigan and David Fletcher of Ballyholme Yacht Club for the top prize after six races by one point in a 12–boat fleet.

Dinghy 3120Geoff Power and James McCann, 420 National Champions. Photo: Bob Bateman

This month's Kiel Week top ten performers, Geoff Power and James McCann were winners of the 15-boat 420 Irish Championships after nine races but only by a single point from Kinsale Yacht Club's Micheal O'Suilleabhain and Michael Carroll. Third were Dublin's Kate Lyttle and Niamh Henry from the Royal St George YC.

Dinghy Fest.Fr 2877Neil Spain and Shane Hughes were RS200 Euro Cup and Irish National Championships winners. Photo: Bob Bateman

In the biggest Fest fleet, Neil Spain and Shane Hughes of Howth Yacht Club were winners by three points after nine races in the 21–boat RS200 fleet. Greystones Sailing Club's Marty O'Leary and Rachel Williamson were second and RStGYC's Sean Craig and Rosemary Tyrell were third.

Dinghy Fest Su 3769 1Charles Dwyer was the winner of a nine–boat National 18 fleet

The National 18 fleet did not make double figures for its national championships on home waters which is somewhat disappointing given the hype around its new Morrisson design. Royal Cork's Charles Dwyer beat Tom Dwyer with Ewen Barry of Monkstown Bay Sailing Club third.

Dinghy 2258John Chambers on the new Waszp foiler Photo: Bob Bateman

Rory Fitzpatrick beat Neill O'Toole in a battle of the Moth's with John Chambers WasZP debut third of three foilers in the weekend's 'Extreme fleet'.

Dinghy Fest Su 3878Harry and Simon Pritchard were RS Feva Southern Championships winners. The pair were also crowned Dinghy Fest 2017 Champions on the basis of their scoresheet: six race wins out of six! Photo: Bob Bateman

Dinghy Fest Su 2321Harry Durcan and Harry Whitaker won the Dinghy Fest mixed dinghies fleet Photo: Bob Bateman

Dinghy Fest Su 3876JP Curtin, the Optimist Fun Fleet Winner. Photo: Bob Bateman

Dinghy Fest Su 3878The Optimist Dinghy Fest fun fleet Photo: Bob Bateman

Results are here 

Published in Royal Cork YC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button


Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating