Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

'Nieulargo' is Royal Cork Yacht Club's Keelboat of the Year

20th November 2018
Denis Murphy (right) and Ann Marie Murphy of Nieulargo are presented with the RCYC Boat of the Year award by RCYC Vice Admiral Colin Morehead Denis Murphy (right) and Ann Marie Murphy of Nieulargo are presented with the RCYC Boat of the Year award by RCYC Vice Admiral Colin Morehead

Last Friday night the Royal Cork Yacht Club end of year prize giving for the keelboats was held, a great crowd turned up to the evening, the format for this prize giving changed a few years ago, away from a formal dinner to a fun, more relaxed night with finger food in the main club bar and this as proven to be a great success with over 70 members in attendance on the night.

RCYC Vice Admiral Colin Morehead opened the evening with a warm welcome and thanks to all. The first set of prizes was for the Fitzgerald Menware Aug/Sept League swiftly followed by the Northsails Sunday Morning Leagues and the Coastal series league. The RCYC annual Super League prize was then presented, this is the trophy for the combination of all mid-week racing across the season.

Next up was the Overall trophies and we have introduced three new trophies in 2018, we added a Keelboat sailor of the year, won by Molly Murphy, a Under 25 sailor of the year, won by Robyn Lynch and the Royal Cork Stanchion trophy (for the boat won was unable to keep all their crew on board while racing, for one reason or another during the year) this was won by Deirdre & Paul Tingle.

RCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Frank Doyle, Fitzgerald’s Menswear August leagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Paul TingleRCYC Winter prizegiving20Jack Young presenting Oisin MacSweeney, winner of the North Sails Sunday Morning LeagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Jack Young and Len Donnery, North Sails Sunday morning leagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Cormac MacSweeney and Jack Young, Fitzgerald’s Menswear August September leagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Kieran O'BrienRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Denis Byrne IRC 2 Super LeagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead, Mel Collins & Kieran Collins, IRC 1 Super League winnersRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Brian Jones, Ballycottton RaceRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Denis Ellis, August combined leagueRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Tadgh Lynch representing Paul O’Shea for White Sail boat of the tearRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Tom McGrath volunteer of the year with the under 25 AcademyRCYC Winter prizegiving20Paul Tingle, Colin Morehead and Deirdre Tingle Royal Cork Stanchion trophyRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Molly Murphy keelboat sailor of the yearRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Robyn Lynch and Tom McGrath under 25 Sailor of the YearRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead and Peter O’ Leary, Best Overseas Performance in the Star classRCYC Winter prizegiving20Colin Morehead, Kieran Collins, Mel Collins, Kieran O’Connell club boat of the yearRCYC Winter prizegiving20Kieran O Connell and Roy HananRCYC Winter prizegiving20Brian Jones, Kieran O’Connell and Colin Morehead

A full list of prize winners is below:

RCYC Super League Winners 2018

Club ECHO SPIN 1 Fleet

1st IRL77883 Coracle IV

Club ECHO SPIN 2 Fleet

1st GBR9896 Magnet

Club ECHO WS Fleet

1st IRL1022 Aramis

IRC SPIN 1 Fleet

1st IRL77883 Coracle IV

IRC SPIN 2 Fleet

1st IRL2501 Cracker

IRC WS Fleet

1st Elegance Paul O Shea

IHS Division

1st IHS Exhale

2018 Coastal Series

Ballycotton Race IRL 9609 Jelly Baby

Round the Island Series IRL77883 Coracle IV

Club Trophies

Whitesail boat of the year Elegance Paul O Shea

Under 25 Sailor of the Year Robyn Lynch

Keelboat Sailor of the Year Molly Murphy

RCYC Stanchion Trophy Deirdre & Paul Tingle

Overseas Boat Peter & Rob O'Leary in the Star Class

Club Boat of the Year Coracle IV Kieran Collins

Boat of the Year Nieulargo Denis Murphy

Published in Royal Cork YC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating