Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Courtown's Philip Doran Wins Laser Radial Nationals

2nd May 2011

The 2011 National Champion in the Laser Radial class is Philip Doran (Courtown Sailing Club). Second overall Robbie Gilmore (Strangford Lough YC) and third Eoin Keller (Lough Derg YC). The first Girl is Sophie Murphy of Quoile Yacht Club. Laser Radial CLASS Sailed: 8, Discards: 1, To count: 7, Entries: 43, Scoring system: Appendix A

1st 191679 Philip Doran Courtown SC/NYC/WHBTC
2nd 196533 Robbie Gilmore Strangford Lough YC
3rd 200493 Eoin Keller Lough Derg YC
4th 198526 Christopher Eames SLYC/BYC
5th 191304 Fionn Lyden Baltimore SC/Schull CC
6th 188460 Rory Lynch National YC/BSC
7th 195099 Mark Condy Howth YC
8th 198783 Colm O'Regan Kinsale YC
9th 200494 Sophie Murphy Quoile YC/RStGYC/BYC
10th 166482 Eoghan Cudmore Royal Cork YC
11th 197518 Saskia Tidey Royal Irish YC
12th 197364 Sean Murphy Kinsale YC
13th 190755 John Flynn Dungarvan Harbour SC
14th 179050 Oisin O'Driscoll Schull CC
15th 170238 Darragh McCormack Baltimore SC
16th 194785 Georgina Corbett Lough Derg YC
17th 194994 Jack Brien Royal North of Ireland YC
18th 193654 Oliver Keenan Howth YC
19th 181675 Jamie Aplin Royal St George YC
20th 195757 Eoin O Neill National YC
21st 183296 Alfie Guy Royal St George YC
22nd 183939 Rory McStay Royal Irish YC
23rd 197370 Sarah Eames Strangford Lough SC
24th 170456 Keelan Conway Wexford Harbour BTC
25th 180932 William Byrne National YC
26th 177874 David Whittaker Royal Cork YC
27th 175356 Cian Cahill Royal St George YC
28th 198780 Tadhg O Loingsigh Tralee Bay SC
29th 196737 Katie Gambier-Ross Kinsale YC
30th 196516 Robert Ferris Howth YC
31st 189542 Guy Aplin Royal St George YC
32nd 198451 Sam McGinley Royal Cork YC
33rd 185981 Sam Purdon Strangford Lough YC
34th 194993 Greg, Murphy Royal St George YC
35th 194646 Clara Hynes Rush SC/National YC
36th 196730 Brian Carthy Royal St George YC
37th 189482 Rory Harrington Royal Irish YC
38th 181674 Michael Craig Royal Irish YC
39th 196731 Ciaran Hand Rush SC
40th 190721 Ben Raymond National YC
41st 171417 Paul Mc Parland Carlingford Lough YC
42nd 190587 Gavan Walsh National YC
43rd 177847 Heather O Connor Waterford Harbour SC
Published in Youth Sailing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button