Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dublin Bay Sailing Club On Course for Bumper Turkey Shoot Turnout

20th October 2021
DBSC Turkey Shoot Series Racing on Dublin Bay Credit: Afloat

Dublin Bay Sailing Club looks on course for its regular bumper turnout of 70 boats – or more – for its seven-race AIB sponsored Turkey Shoot Series starting in just under three weeks. 

The Bay Winter Series has consistently made an effort to include boats that do not usually race. Series organiser Fintan Cairns is reporting a 'good response' from cruising boats and one design among the largely cruiser-racer-based fleet this week.

There has been a healthy response across the Dun Laoghaire Harbour waterfront - and further afield too - with boats from the West Coast competing, including Sean Hawkshaw's Wardance of Sligo Yacht Club.

The fun Series that features short sharp racing has 35 confirmed entries so far, with 18 days to run before the first race on November 7th. 

The two regular Sunfast 3600s are entered, club 1720 sportsboats and ISORA competitor, A Plus, an Archambault 31.

The Archambault 31, A Plus from the National Yacht ClubThe Archambault 31, A Plus from the National Yacht Club

A First 44.7, a J/112e are also entered at this stage plus there is the prospect of some new arrivals to the bay also joining the Series.

The Series of seven races will be held on Sunday mornings under modified ECHO handicap.

The popular Series runs until December 19th with First Gun each Sunday at 10.10 hrs.

The entry fee is €70 and includes temporary membership of DBSC and the Royal Irish Yacht Club who are hosting the Series.

A Notice of Race is downloadable here.

A number of club 1720s are enteredA number of club 1720s are entered

Published in Turkey Shoot Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club Turkey Shoot Winter Series

Dublin Bay Sailing Club's Turkey Shoot Series reached its 20th year in 2020.

The popular yacht series racing provides winter-racing for all the sailing clubs on the southside of Dublin Bay in the run-up to Christmas.

It regularly attracts a fleet of up to 70 boats of different shapes and sizes from all four yachts clubs at Dun Laoghaire: The National Yacht Club, The Royal St. George Yacht Club, The Royal Irish Yacht Club and the Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club as well as other clubs such as Sailing in Dublin. Typically the event is hosted by each club in rotation.

The series has a short, sharp format for racing that starts at approximately 10 am and concludes around noon. The event was the brainchild of former DBSC Commodore Fintan Cairns to give the club year-round racing on the Bay thanks to the arrival of the marina at Dun Laoghaire in 2001. Cairns, an IRC racer himself, continues to run the series each winter.

Typically, racing features separate starts for different cruiser-racers but in fact, any type of boat is allowed to participate, even those yachts that do not normally race are encouraged to do so.

Turkey Shoot results are calculated under a modified ECHO handicap system and there can be a fun aspect to some of the scoring in keeping with the Christmas spirit of the occasion.

As a result, the Turkey Shoot often receives entries from boats as large as Beneteau 50 footers and one designs as small as 20-foot flying Fifteens, all competing over the same course.

It also has legendary weekly prizegivings in the host waterfront yacht clubs immediately after racing. There are fun prizes and overall prizes based on series results.

Regular updates and DBSC Turkey Shoot Results are published on Afloat each week as the series progresses.


Cruisers, cruising boats, one-designs and boats that do not normally race are very welcome. Boats range in size from ocean-going cruisers at 60 and 60 feet right down to small one-design keelboats such as 20-foot Flying Fifteens. A listing of boats for different starts is announced on Channel 74 before racing each week.

Each winter from the first Sunday in November until the last week before Christmas.

Usually no more than two hours. The racecourse time limit is 12.30 hours.

Between six and eight with one or two discards applied.

Racing is organised by Dublin Bay Sailing Club and the Series is rotated across different waterfront yacht clubs for the popular after race party and prizegiving. The waterfront clubs are National Yacht Club (NYC), Royal Irish Yacht Club (RIYC), Royal St George Yacht Club (RSGYC) and Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club (DMYC).

© Afloat 2020