Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dublin Bay J109 'Something Else' is IRC 3 Winner as Scottish Series 2023 Draws to a Close

30th May 2023
Brian Hall's J109 Something Else from the National Yacht Club on Dublin Bay has won the Causeway Cup at the Scottish Series on the Clyde for his performance in winning IRC 3 division
Brian Hall's J109 Something Else from the National Yacht Club on Dublin Bay has won the Causeway Cup at the Scottish Series on the Clyde for his performance in winning IRC 3 division Credit: Afloat

After a weekend of challenging conditions and fierce racing, Brian Hall's J109 Something Else from the National Yacht Club on Dublin Bay has won the Causeway Cup at the Scottish Series on the Clyde for his performance in winning IRC 3 division.

Brian Hall, (centre) skipper of Brian Hall's J109 Something Else with the Causeway Cup at the Scottish SeriesScottish Series Chairman Jamie McGarry (left) presents Brian Hall, skipper of J109 Something Else, with the Causeway Cup. Also pictured is Hall's son Jack (right), one of the winning crew members from the National Yacht Club entry

Two Howth yachts competed in IRC Class 2 and the RC35 Scottish Championship that Banshee won, sailed by Charles Frize. 

Michael & Richard Evans J99 Snapshot was fourth overall, and Pat Kelly's Storm II was fifth in the 12-boat fleet.

Scottish RC 35 champions and IRC 2 winners, the crew of Banshee skippered by Charles FrizeScottish RC 35 champions and  Scottish Series 2023 IRC 2 winners, the crew of Banshee skippered by Charles Frize

The Impala 28 Arcade, sailed by Jack Aitken, was named the overall winner of Scottish Series 2023.

Impala 28 Arcade crewThe Impala 28 Arcade crew

Arcade finished the Series with five firsts, a second and a third. They discarded the third, to end the event on five points, taking their class win and the prestigious title of Scottish Series champions.

IRC Class 1 was taken by veteran campaigner Jonathan Anderson sailing El Gran Senor.

Scottish Series Chairman Jamie McGarry said: ‘This has been an absolutely fantastic weekend of racing. It has been so good to be back in Tarbert. Scottish Series is an incredibly important event, and we’re delighted to have worked with our sponsors and Tarbert Enterprise Company, together with Tarbert Harbour Authority to deliver a world-class Series. Roll on Scottish Series 2024.’

Alongside the overall Scottish Series trophy, the well-attended prizegiving, which took place in the Marquee at Tarbert Harbour, saw the following crews pick up some coveted Scottish Series silverware:

  • The Bell Lawrie Belfast Cup - Argento
  • The Tunnocks Cup – Micky Finn IV
  • The Clyde Bowl – Micky Finn IV
  • The Crawford McInnes Trophy - Griogair MacFarlane - Tata
  • The La Rochelle Trophy – St Bridget.
  • The Vanora Cup – Micky Finn IV.
  • The Anchor Hotel Trophy – Mayrise
  • The Saturn Sails Trophy – Arcade
  • The St George Bowl – Banshee
  • The Causeway Cup – Something Else
  • The McIver Salver – Banshee
  • Valhalla of Ashton Salver – Geoff Crowley
  • The Scottish Series Trophy – Arcade
  • ICC Decanter – Peter Edmond

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Scottish Series Background

Although the format of the Scottish Series varies little from year to year, it is interesting to see some of the changes which the event has seen over the years:

  • CYCA handicap class added to IOR (1976)
  • IOR level rating classes to reflect the popular sizes and World Championships being held in the UK
  • Separate one design class for Sonatas (1980 to date)
  • Campbeltown dropped with offshore races direct to Tarbert (1982)
  • Unique light displacement CYCA class - the forerunner of today's sportboats (1982)
  • Computer results system introduced in 1982 and now recognised as the best in the UK
  • Separate one design class for Sigma 33 (1987 to date)
  • Separate one design classes in certain years for Impalas, Sigma 38, Melges 24 and Cork 1720
  • Inner triangle to shorten courses for smaller classes (1986)
  • Points loading for offshore race reduced from 2 to 1.5 to 1
  • First racing in Scotland under Channel Handicap (1988)
  • Second racecourse for smaller classes (1989)
  • Discard introduced
  • Windward leeward races - two per day (1993)
  • Sportboat classes with no overnight races (1994)
  • Marquee on quayside for main social events (1995-2008)
  • Restricted Sail Class (1998)
  • Third racecourse for sportboats with up to three races per day (1998)
  • Day feeder races (2002)
  • Overnight and day feeder races discontinued (2005)
  • Stand-alone Tarbert Inbound and Outbound passage races introduced (2005/6)

With all these changes, some things have stayed the same:

  • Huge support from Ireland every year since 1975
  • A magnificent effort ashore and afloat from the volunteer helpers of the Clyde Cruising Club, Royal Scottish Motor Yacht Club and Tarbert Loch Fyne Yacht Club
  • Results and communications service at the forefront of technology
  • The best competition and the best social scene in the country
  • An overall Series winner, the roll call including many of the top sailors in Scotland and beyond.

Scottish Series 2022

Following the cancellation of the 2020 event, the dates for the 2021 edition of Scotland's biggest sailing event at Tarbert is: 3 –5 June 2022

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating