Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

2024 Scottish Series Overall Winner is Etchells 22 'Bounce Back'

28th May 2024
The Impala 28 Arcade won CYCA 2 division at the 2024 Scottish Series
The Impala 28 Arcade won CYCA 2 division at the 2024 Scottish Series Credit: Marc Turner

There was something for all 90 competitors in the Jura Scottish Series regatta just ended in Loch Fyne – variety of courses, weather, scenery, excellent racing and of course entertainment. SS24 delivered a full race schedule for all classes with the help of the deployment of Robotic Marks. Loch Fyne is up to 150m deep, and it is difficult to lay traditional marks.

Some of the prizes weren’t won until the last day. That was particularly so in IRC 1, where Ben Shelley’s J109 Mocking J from Fairlie won overall, having tied on 14 points with Jacob VII, the Corby 33 from CCC (John Stamp). Third was Robin Young’s J109 Jings, which was the order at the top of the RC 35 Championship.

Alan Ovington in the Half Tonner HeadHunter (RGYC) finished well ahead of Ally Paton’s J92 Jammin (HYC) in IRC 2. HeadHunter looked a contender for the overall prize but lost out as the Coastal Course was heavy going on reaching so the J92s did better and that cost them a fifth but they still won IRC 2 and the Scottish IRC title.

Etchells class racing at the 2024 Scottish Series Photo: Marc TurnerEtchells class racing at the 2024 Scottish Series Photo: Marc Turner

Stephen Rarity, in Bounce Back from RGYC, held on to his overnight lead and ended up 9 points ahead in the Etchells division. He has a string of places, never lower than second. To make the Series special for Bounce Back, Stephen won the overall prize.

The crew of Bounce Back were the Scottish Series overall winners in  in the Etchells classThe crew of Bounce Back were the Scottish Series overall winners in  in the Etchells class Photo: Marc Turner

In one of the other One Design classes, the Hunter 707s, Eddie Batchelor from Port Edgar YC held on to his lead to win that class.

A Hunter 707 start at the 2024 Scottish Series Regatta Photo: Marc TurnerA Hunter 707 start at the 2024 Scottish Series Regatta Photo: Marc Turner

It was the turn of the Impala 28 Arcade to head up CYCA 2. Finn Aitken emphasised Impala’s winning reputation in the last series when Arcade was awarded the Overall Winner prize. The overnight leader, Alan Dunnet’s Swan 36, Valhalla of Ashton slipped into third place behind the Mustang 30 (Rory Chalmers) in this class.

In the very competitive Sigma 33 division James Miller won emphatically in Mayrise with eight first places with Griogair Whyte’s Close Encounters runner up and in another One Design division, the RS 21s, Duncan Hepplewhite from Loch Lomond had a clean sweep. Eddie Batchelor (Port Edgar YC) dominated the Hunter 707 class counting seven first places.

Mayrise (James Miller) was the Sigma 33 winner Photo: Marc TurnerMayrise (James Miller) was the Sigma 33 winner Photo: Marc Turner

The Two-Handed General Handicap class produced an unusual tie for the first three places, with Lyrebird, Liaison, and St Bridget tying on four points each. Clive Reeves won in Lyrebird.

The sole winner from Northern Ireland was in CYCA (R) where Stevie Andrews’ Hanse 371 Dark and Scary, well known on Strangford Lough in County Down, was well ahead of Iain Cameron’s Moody 36 Honeybee from Largs. Dark and Scary apparently was elevated (I’m told) to the position of Superstar in that Class.

Event Organiser Roddy Angus was pleased that the Scottish Series racing was excellent “ Many of the competitors commented that the quality of the racing was the best ever. Being able to sail in mid-Loch in some of the most beautiful scenery in Scotland was a joy”.

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in Scottish Series
Betty Armstrong

About The Author

Betty Armstrong

Email The Author

Betty Armstrong is Afloat and Yachting Life's Northern Ireland Correspondent. Betty grew up racing dinghies but now sails a more sedate Dehler 36 around County Down

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Scottish Series Background

Although the format of the Scottish Series varies little from year to year, it is interesting to see some of the changes which the event has seen over the years:

  • CYCA handicap class added to IOR (1976)
  • IOR level rating classes to reflect the popular sizes and World Championships being held in the UK
  • Separate one design class for Sonatas (1980 to date)
  • Campbeltown dropped with offshore races direct to Tarbert (1982)
  • Unique light displacement CYCA class - the forerunner of today's sportboats (1982)
  • Computer results system introduced in 1982 and now recognised as the best in the UK
  • Separate one design class for Sigma 33 (1987 to date)
  • Separate one design classes in certain years for Impalas, Sigma 38, Melges 24 and Cork 1720
  • Inner triangle to shorten courses for smaller classes (1986)
  • Points loading for offshore race reduced from 2 to 1.5 to 1
  • First racing in Scotland under Channel Handicap (1988)
  • Second racecourse for smaller classes (1989)
  • Discard introduced
  • Windward leeward races - two per day (1993)
  • Sportboat classes with no overnight races (1994)
  • Marquee on quayside for main social events (1995-2008)
  • Restricted Sail Class (1998)
  • Third racecourse for sportboats with up to three races per day (1998)
  • Day feeder races (2002)
  • Overnight and day feeder races discontinued (2005)
  • Stand-alone Tarbert Inbound and Outbound passage races introduced (2005/6)

With all these changes, some things have stayed the same:

  • Huge support from Ireland every year since 1975
  • A magnificent effort ashore and afloat from the volunteer helpers of the Clyde Cruising Club, Royal Scottish Motor Yacht Club and Tarbert Loch Fyne Yacht Club
  • Results and communications service at the forefront of technology
  • The best competition and the best social scene in the country
  • An overall Series winner, the roll call including many of the top sailors in Scotland and beyond.

Scottish Series 2025

The dates for the 2025 edition of Scotland's biggest sailing event at Tarbert are: 23 –26 May 2025

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating